We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy food in New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamila's Cafe Deli

Jamila's Cafe Deli
7808 Maple St, New Orleans, LA 70118-3961
(504) 866-4366
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #393 of 1,606 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $25
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Healthy food in New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Jamila's is an oasis of healthy choices in a city populated with fried foods. This was my first time eating Tunisian food. As its geography would suggest, kind of Moroccan and kind of Mediterranean. Salads with fruit and nuts. Lamb cooked in a tagine served with rice pilaf was very good. We finished the meal with pastries - baklava and a unique Tunisian cookie. It was different from any I've had before, and quite nice.

The owner waited on us. He was friendly and attentive, but not overbearing. I enjoyed how much pride he took in his restaurant and in his wife's cooking. He made a special point to have her come out of the kitchen to meet us. It was great.

This is a very nice place with great food and reasonable prices. I recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    17
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Four stars for atmosphere, three stars for food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had two dinners at Jamila's and enjoyed being there a lot, since the owner really goes out of his way to make the customers feel welcome. The place was full both evenings and the vibe is nice. The food was average to good, with very few vegetable choices. Go there for the atmosphere, the mussels, the lamb, and the belly dancer on saturdays.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jamila's - One of NOLA's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I visited NOA last week and ate at five different restaurants. Jamila's was my personal favorite. It was the second time I've eaten there. First, it's fun to get there by taking the St. Charles Street trolley to the end of the line and then a short walk through a quiet, tree lined neighborhood. Second, the food is fantastic. I had a fish stew with couscous on the side and a shrimp skewer for appetizer. The appetizer was so delicious. The shrimp had been marinated or rubbed in some exotic spices, grilled to perfection and then served on a bed of chopped tomatoes, skins removed, and fresh basil with a vinegar based dressing. The fish stew was a firm white fish, I think it was amberjack and tomato based sauce, of course, spiced to perfection. Sounds simple, but the mix of spices, fresh flavors and lightness made it a memorable meal. If you take the time to find your way to this small riverbend restaurant you won't be disappointed. In fact, you'll get hooked like me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, Louisiana
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A very good little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A really cozy little almost hole in the wall restaurant run by a Tunisian family. The food is awesome and the service is more awesome. Very friendly staff to say the least and you will enjoy the ambiance. It is nothing flashy, but very comfy. We loved the food served at this place. We were two couples but wanted to taste all the food. So we asked them to serve family style, where they served four entrees and bread/pita separately along with four plates. So we all tasted the four different dishes. Their lamb dishes are just delicious and I highly recommend the Lamb Tajin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“City Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great attention to detail..... The hosts are the owners; unique fresh, down to earth food.
have to try the couscous..must do the lamb chops" best in town"(don't tell Susan spicer...)
ask Mounsieur Monseuf for a selected bottle of french bubbly... you will remember it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamila's Cafe Deli also viewed

 

Been to Jamila's Cafe Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamila's Cafe Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.