We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly simple but sooo good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Delachaise

The Delachaise
3442 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115
504-895-0858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #529 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Closed due to damage suffered in Hurricane Katrina.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazingly simple but sooo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Delachaise is a bar with some extras: cute patio on the St Charles boulevard, extensive by the glass wine and beer list and a great cook!
First you need to go to the bar to order your food as there is no waiter to take your order - a bit unusual for me. Second, I was delighted to see some sparkling wines by the glass that you would not be able to see unless you go to a very expensive restaurant (French specifically). Third, they have French fries cooked in goose fat that are to die for!!!!
I ordered a plate of steamed mussels and the cook did them to perfection...What can I say? they know how to cook back there even though this place is not set to be a restaurant...Really?!
I enjoyed my time even though I was on my own. Please be patient with the kitchen. The manager was generous by offering me another glass of wine because my order was taking more time than usual...Wow! This is a great place to stop at...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Excellent wine and food - curmudgeonly bartenders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We love this quirky, wonderful place on the Avenue. An extensive variety of wines and liquors and wonderfully prepared dishes are served in a beautiful setting by people who clearly have better places to be, but then that's part of the charm in a way. The patio is a nice spot on pleasant evenings and the inside space has a convivial, open feel. They could put some work into those bathrooms, however.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great bar, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Delachaise is one of the more popular bar's in uptown area of New Orleans. Generally crowded and filled with locals, they have a good selection of beer and scotch. The food is great as well.

Like most places in NO, they are open late. The service can be a little slow, esp. considering the crowd on weekends.

I personally enjoyed going to this place!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Best wine bar in the city"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We were on the St. Charles streetcar when we saw a little wine bar with red umbrellas right alongside the road. We mentioned that it looked nice & then one of the locals said "that's the best wine bar in the city" so we got off at the next stop & walked back & stayed for a few hours. Wow - what a great selection of wines by the glass or bottle. They have cheese trays with 20 + kinds of cheese you can choose from. Great beer, scotch, bourbon - whatever you want. Try the frite con fite -(homemade frenchfries made better by fying them in goose fat). Not a huge menu & you have to order at the bar -- there's no table service - but they really have knowledgeable staff. Do go!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

It is the "little corner place" that you hope to find when you go to NOLA. They call themselves a bar, and in fact, they are one of the most incredible bars I have ever seen with a selection beyond belief. However, we LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the food. While their menu is limited, that is good since it is very difficult to make a choice with such great food. Their chef is creative, skilled and just - the best. It is small and you can eat outside or a few tables inside. We never miss the opportunity to eat there when we are in NO.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Delachaise also viewed

 

Been to The Delachaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Delachaise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.