We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Slice of Paris on Magazine Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martinique Bistro

Martinique Bistro
5908 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70115-3221 (Audubon)
(504) 891-8495
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Martinique Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 1,606 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Audubon
Cross street: Eleonore
Transit: We are located one block from the Nashville bus stop and nine blocks from the Nashville streetcar stop.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A little Slice of Paris on Magazine Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently moved back to Uptown New Orleans and we are 3 blocks from Martinique Bistro on Magazine Street. Had friends in from out of town and wanted to do a nice dinner, but easy. So, walked to the Restaurant and was delighted with the entire experience. Great Ambiance, Great Menu selections, Excellent Wine list. Good prices. Portions a wee bit too small for me, but I am 6'4". What was served is delicious, I had the scallops. I asked fellow diners around the small intimate dining room what they were having so I could get an idea what to order next time - like all New Orleanians, people were happy to share. A number of people from Metairie who do the long drive for the food. Kevin Costner came in that night to dine ~ surprise. One thing - the bread - need to do something about the bread. Why do some great restaurants always have just basic bread with cold butter - need to bump that up for perfect in my book

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    58
    9
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great food and a great patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The specials are fantastic and the patio is beautiful on cool nights. We have been several times and never a disappointment. Great fish dishes and salads. It is very hard to park in this area, so a cab may be a better idea.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife & I ate there recently for the first time, and liked it well enough to try it again. We ate outside in the garden-like patio, which is covered and filled with live plants - a lovely setting. The service was good, as was most of the food. Their seafood gumbo was tasty. My wife had the shrimp and vermicelli with mango squash, which was a heavenly dish. I had a salad and the fish special, which was grilled black drum - a lovely, firm white fish. Both came covered with sunflower sprouts, which I didn't care for, and I found the fish rather tasteless.
The young waiter was inexperienced, but attentive, and the hostess/manager(?) checked on us.
We'll probably visit again sometime when we are in New Orleans, because we really liked the atmosphere and my wife's food was delicious. I may have been unduly influenced by the sunflower sprouts.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Neck, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Food was inventive, delicious. Service impeccable. Garden setting beautiful. Wine list lovely. I highly recommend this restaurant, which is not a tourist trap. You get a lovely meal in an inviting ambiance.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A bit of a haul but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We've eaten here about four times, during Jazz Fest. The restaurant is way out of the downtown area, so you need a car or cab to get there. By car you then have to deal with parking, on the street, and it's often tight, but we've always found a spot. It's in a nice neighborhood, so no worries about that. They have a lovely patio, which is decidedly the best option. There are heaters if it is cool. The food is consistently good. And it's actually possible to get a res here on Saturday night during Jazz Fest less than a week in advance.

This time we had the Double Thyme and La Reine des Epices cocktails, both good. They did a great job with the barbecued oysters app, since the oysters were barely cooked (yes!), out of the shell, in a delicious sauce that did not, surprise!, overpower the oysters. The salmon, beet, arugula, goat cheese salad tower was lovely and delicious. The duck confit salad was good but the confit was a bit mild, though tender. The scallops main course and the Hawaiian barramundi were both delicious, and even the gnocchi garnish was light. Decent wine selection and good service. Overall a very good meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martinique Bistro also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA

Been to Martinique Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martinique Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.