We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all have off nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayona

Bayona
430 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3406
504-525-4455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bayona is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Mediterranean, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: St. Louis
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We all have off nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I viewed and touted Bayona as one of the best restaurants in New Orleans, and thereby the US! We went there on Friday July 12 for a much anticipated dinner. The wine was great, the bean cake and shrimp were excellent, as was the quail appetizer. The Salmon with Choucroute & Gewurztraminer Sauce, usually amazing. fell short of our last visit, both in preparation and presentation. The duck was good, but again not up to Chef Spicer's usual standard of excellence. I hope this was an off night, we would love to come back and enjoy the dining bliss we remember.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    129
    87
    52
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, Terrible attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just ate at Bayona in New Orleans. We live in New Orleans for a long time, eat out on average 3-4 times a week here, and have eaten at all the best restaurants here many times. Bayona, Stella, Commanders Palace, Galatoire's, Gautreaus, Upperline, etc.
As usual Susan Spicer's food was excellent. My wife and I were celebrating a very positive business transaction recently completed and were in a very good mood. However, the server, Jessie M. really put a damper on the evening. It was obvious that the food we ordered and the wine we ordered, two bottles for two people, did not please her or meet her expectations for what the ticket would suggest as a tip. Her attitude became more negative as the meal progressed.
This person does not belong in the service industry in New Orleans. She will lose customers
for the restaurant. If you go and they assign her, do yourself a favor and ask for someone else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bayona Is Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Bayona offers a very good menu with an enjoyable selection. The ingredients are fresh and locally sourced whenever possible. All the food was outstanding. The restaurant atmosphere was nice, cozy, and you look out at a courtyard that you can eat in. The service was good. We will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Food here is very different. We loved everything we ate. Lamb was delicious. My friends had the fish - they enjoyed their meals also. The collard greens were off the hook.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“As great as last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our second visit to Bayona in 13 months and my third overall. It was good the first time (13 years ago), great last year and near perfect this time. All the food was outstanding and the service was flawless. We will return gladly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayona also viewed

 

Been to Bayona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.