We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayona

Bayona
430 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3406
504-525-4455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bayona is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #141 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Mediterranean, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: St. Louis
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went to Bayona last night for perhaps the fifth time over many years. Has always been one of our favorite places to eat in NOLA. Had a late reservation and had to wait an additional 20 minutes to be seated. Place is still lovely, especially out in the couryard. Servers were initially very prompt and attentive, but as the night grew, became slower and slower. Gap between salads and entrees was perhaps 45 minutes, and frankly this did not appear to be just to allow us to savor the food. We eventually grew a bit anxious, and after several requests got our entrees. Food was excellent as always (if not a bit cool, agreed by everyone - wondering how long it had been sitting) but then had another long wait for dessert. Have eaten in many wonderful restaurants around the world and this was a bit much frankly. Hopefully it was just an off night, but our dining companions had never been before to Bayona and were unfortunately were not impressed. We will be back in the future but hope this is not a trend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    130
    87
    52
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Enjoyed a light lunch at Bayona. Would of preferred dinner because the portions were small but what we had was delicious!! Location is great and atmospher is lovely!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Better than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I learned about this restaurant from the character based on the chef in the show Treme.
Bayona surpassed my expectations. Get the garlic soup and try to sit outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were there to celebrate a friend's birthday and I was worried about the place I chose because their service had been reviewed quite poorly. I really don't know why because we were treated very nicely. Food came out in a timely fashion and it was delicious. The outdoor area was beautuful!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Charming atmosphere and very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We ate here twice during our stay, once inside for lunch and then again outside for dinner. The garden and patio area is lovely and I'm glad that we got to sit out there on a warm evening. It was too hot for me on the day that we were there for lunch, so while they offered to seat us outside because we had a reservation and those are desirable tables, we opted to go inside instead.

The service was consistently very good. One thing that I appreciated about New Orleans restaurants, and Bayona was no exception, is that the waiters stay fill and refill the water glasses without having to be asked. Everything else service-wise went smoothly and we didn't experience any unreasonable delays or unpleasantness on either visit.

The food was quite good; some dishes were excellent. For example, at lunch there was a baby scallop dish with lentils and raita that was rather unusual and full of layered flavors. It had both creole and Indian nuances, something I'd never imagined could be artfully combined. We tried the garlic soup as well, though it wasn't as appealing to us as some of the other dishes; it seemed to lack complexity, unlike the scallop dish. A lightly seared tuna appetizer with mushrooms, micro greens and a spicy dressing laced underneath was also memorable from lunch. At dinner, a grilled pork chop was served perfectly cooked to the doneness that I had requested.

The wine list was extensive, both in domestic and imported options. They also make a good Sazerac, which I made it a point to try pretty much everywhere in NOLA.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayona also viewed

 

Been to Bayona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.