We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My vote for Best Restaurant in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of August

August
301 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2408
504-299-9777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
August is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Gravier
Atlanta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My vote for Best Restaurant in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been to August twice in the past two years, and both times I have been very impressed with the cuisine and level of service. This is what a fine dining experience should be, and other fine dining establishments in the city could learn a lesson or two from August. I recommend the tasting menu with wine pairings. On both of my visits, the sommelier has selected interesting, memorable wines that really bring out the flavors in the dishes. The service at August is pitch perfect, attentive without being intrusive or overly familiar. Your every need is anticipated well in advance, and you will find yourself not having to ask for anything.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    644
    131
    55
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Missouri, United States
1 review
“August is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent ambiance, food and service. My wife had short ribs from the lunch menu -- just ask for it -- and it was the best she's ever had. The raviolo was amazing. The portion size was just fine, so ignore the complaints you read.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I think I love you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you're a foodie - run, don't walk, to August. By far, it is one of the most memorable meals I have had regardless of expense. Yes, with cocktails and wine, the bill was about $100 pp, but it was worth every dollar! We opened with an oyster appetizer that meddled pickled mustard with delicately fried crispy oysters, coupled with a pecan beer or a spritely gin was delightful. We then dined on soft-shelled crabs and speckled trout. The trout came with a crisply seared crust with wild mushrooms and a hollandaise mousse - the balance of flavors and textures made me savor every morsel. Finished this with chocolate ganache and a goat cheese cheesecake made for a very memorable meal in NOLA. Thank you, God for creating John Besh!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spectacular room. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful with the interesting menu. Service was outstanding and the presentations were to die for.
A MUST if you visit NOLA and can afford it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Ate here with a large group. We were treated like royalty by the waitstaff. I had the trout entree which was fabulous. Desserts were presented in a non-traditional way. I ordered banana pudding which looked like a dessert kabob. Overall the best dining experience we had in New Orleans.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed August also viewed

 

Been to August? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage August, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.