We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great local hotspot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liuzza's Restaurant & Bar

Liuzza's Restaurant & Bar
3636 Bienville St, New Orleans, LA 70119-5203 (Mid-City)
504-482-9120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #312 of 1,515 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mid-City
East Lyme, Connecticut
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great local hotspot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Liuzza's is a must on our NOLA trips. The gumbo and po-boys are fantastic! The surroundings are laid back and there is a huge local crowd. Don't expect a lot of chit chat with the staff however the food and environment are the reasons we go.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My cousin gave us 5 must visit restaurants to go to while in New Orleans. We only had time to visit one and we were so thankful we picked Liuzza's. We chose it based TA reviews and it was a great place to eat on our last night in town. We both ordered catfish po boys and we also had an appetizer of jumbalaya. Everything was fantastic. You can't go wrong eating where the locals eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No Tourists! Great Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Big menu, nice wait staff, terrific food, packed with happy diners. My fish came perfectly grilled. Nothing fancy. I wish it was in my home neighborhood. I'd eat there all the time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My wife loves this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife used to go here years ago when she lived in new orleans. so we had to go. we were staying in the quarter so we took the canal street streetcar and then walked two blocks. Its in an old quaint building. I had the shrimp remoulade and she had fried oysters. both were excellent and i also had a very large draft beer. the service was great and so is the food. you will not be dissapointed. we plan to return the next time we are in new orleans.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go go go! Get a Po Boy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were pointed to Liuzza's by our kayak tour guides, and it was fantastic! The decor belies the quality of the food inside. It was crowded so we sat at the bar, got some gumbo and a shrimp Po Boy. The Po Boy was simply amazing, with a unique take on BBQ sauce that left us wishing we had brought some home with us. For a great lunch in New Orleans, make sure you get to Liuzza's!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liuzza's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Liuzza's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liuzza's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.