We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food always very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria Corona

Taqueria Corona
5932 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70115-3221
(504) 524-9805
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #440 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Food always very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was the first restaurant my wife took me to twenty years ago and it is still a favorite. We had the grilled green onions and pico de gallo and chips to start, then fish taco, bean burrito. I had the California chicken burrito (massive!) and had enough to take home for dinner. Add one Marguerita to that for total of $31. Can't beat it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“if you like ALL mexican food, you will like taqueria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

when people give taqueria a bad review, i automatically assume 1. bad experience or 2. they are picky eaters. If you like mexican food, it is impossible not to like it. Its fattening and delicious. What's not to like about a plate full of cheesy food and a margarita. it's obviously not a 5 star restaurant but it's cheap!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is about to celebrate 25 years of serving authentic & tasty Mexican food, so that should be enough to realize this place is legit.

Can't say enough about this place. Been coming here since 1989 and I love it. My favorite is the número tres.. It's 3 tacos. A burrito and a flauta. Get the shrimp flauta. . You will not leave disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Shrimp flauta.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The only reason to go here is to enjoy the fried cheesy goodness of the shrimp flautas. Your doctor won't want you to indulge in one more than once a year. Everything else I've had has been better or cheaper elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Olk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything was very good and fresh. I did not like the fact one had to pay for chips and a separate charge for salsa.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Corona also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria Corona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.