We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best New Orleans Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth's

Elizabeth's
601 Gallier St, New Orleans, LA 70117-6217
(504) 944-9272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best New Orleans Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Elizabeth's is laid-back, fun, and funky. Staff is great, food is delicious, and the Bloody Mary is the best in NOLA(challenged only by Louisiana Pizza Kitchen Uptown).
Must have: Praline Bacon, just because...
Duck waffles, grilled smoked salmon and brie.
A great way to kickstart the brain after a night on the town!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    114
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“the BEST Bloody Mary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Sunday morning return from St Roch Cemetery, the cabbie recommended Elizabeth's. Don't let the exterior discourage you, the line outside is your clue to the popularity and quality food. We both had the basic two eggs, cottage fries and toast. She added the Bourdin balls (pork and rice, tasty) and I sated my urge for fried chicken livers. It's a heaping portion, done just right and topped with pepper jelly. Whudda thought? And it was perfect. We never ate dinner that night.

Oh, did I mention the Bloody Mary? Like fruit salad, pickled green beans, olives, wedge of lemon and lime.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended to us by a friend who is basically a gourmet chef himself. We had a table of six and were seated right away at 6:30 PM by a gracious hostess. Our waitress was great, she did not pressure us to move quickly and gave excellent advise on our options. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and cocktails. As others have noted the praline bacon appetizer and corn side item are excellent. My friends commented during dinner that this was one of their favorite new (well new to us) places. The specials were delicious and each item is well priced. I have posted several pictures of the food. Please don't judge the quality and taste of the meals with the display in the pictures. Everything was wonderful and we all left happy plates because we couldn't imagine not eating every bite! Elizabeth's is located in the Bywater neighborhood of New Orleans, not far from the French Quarter. There is ample parking in the neighborhood; however, no public transportation nearby. We can't wait to go back and try their brunch menu!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, MI
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The only reason I didn't get a 5 on this review was that we were kind of left to our own device after we ate when our cab didn't show and were left to walk about 12 blocks back to our apartment as they were closing. The food, however, was brilliant. I ordered the blackened drumfish with a creole sauce, others in our group had the fried chicken, a steak was had and other dishes that were all great. The sides were also fantastic, I had the regular corn and mashed potatoes and could have just eaten that for a meal. Great flavors, lots of butter, and yes - ordered the praline bacon to share with the table and lucky I got a piece! Prices are very reasonable for the quality of food. Drink prices are also reasonable. Our second time as a group and would definitely go back - just would make sure that we had a return cab as the neighborhood is 'not safe' - and that was according to our hostess who sent us off into the night...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in Casual Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

From the very first bite to the last, everything we ate was superb. Our waitress was excellent and we enjoyed it all! The mixed grill was awesome and so was my fish special. The sides are all great, but the corn is exceptional. We enjoyed the sweet potato casserole with that hint on banana. The art work on the wall, the joyful staff swaying to the music and treating us like familiar friends was very nice. Our waitress even wrote out direction for us to get back over to the French Market area. My son and I both loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth's also viewed

 

Been to Elizabeth's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.