We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good soul food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth's

Elizabeth's
601 Gallier St, New Orleans, LA 70117-6217
(504) 944-9272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good soul food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want to try real southern soul food this is the place. The side dishes are very tasty. Must try the praline bacon. It tends to get crowded so a reservation is recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    195
    90
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pimms Cup 3 ways and Eggs Benedict w/fried oysters --- WOW!!! Very fun and funky place in an urban renewal area...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food in an Unassuming Locale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've been staying in the Bywater for the last few years for our annual trek to JazzFest, and until this year had only been to Elizabeth's for breakfest - and lots of coffee after nights out on Frenchman St. This time we decided to try it out for dinner and were literally blown away. The food is reasonable, hearty and really tremendous, so good in fact we went back the next night. Also didn't even know they have a bar upstairs, where we ate the second night. Highly recommend a trek to the Bywater to check out Elzabeths! Everything we had, from the scallop appetizer to Blackened Drumfish in Shrimp Creole sauce was out of this world!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool Vibe and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was a rainy Thursday of Jazz Fest and we nixed the idea of going to the Fairgrounds and hopped a cab here for lunch instead.

It was a quick Cab Drive from the French Quarter, but I had to help my cabbie find it by using my I-Phone.

The inside is colorfully decorated. I had a catfish po boy that was perfect. My mother ordered Boudin Sausage. These were little balls of goodness. She had half of one, and then I stole the rest from her. I recommend trying them.

Staff was friendly and called us a cab back to the quarter. I recommend checking this place out if you want to get away from the quarter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quirky, but Outstanding. Well worth a short cab ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Every once in a while you come upon someplace great and Elizabeth's is great. It is almost 2 miles from the hotels of downtown, but so worth it. We had the praline bacon and it is amazing--salty, fatty and sweet! Yum! They do have yummy healthy options and veggie plates, but why waste your appetite on that. The duck waffle was unusual, but tried it and really enjoyed it. If you like sweet potatoes, you will love it. Also tried the Boudin balls and they were perfectly crunchy on the outside and tasty on the inside. We also had the crabby eggs with cheesy grits. I'd get a different side next time but the crabby eggs were awesome and not too filling. If you like breakfast like I do, Elizabeth's should be at the top of your list! Oh and it was a long walk back (can call a cab to come fetch you), but after a mile walk through great homes on Chartres street (wouldn't walk it at night though), we hit all the markets and shopping close to down town. Turned out to be a great morning with superb food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth's also viewed

 

Been to Elizabeth's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.