We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Food. Soak up the Atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clancy's Restaurant

Clancy's Restaurant
6100 Annunciation St, New Orleans, LA 70118-5709
504-895-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go for the Food. Soak up the Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This it the real deal, authentic New Orleans uptown neighborhood restaurant. We went for lunch which they serve on a limited basis during the week. Everything was fabulous, from the French bread you can't get anywhere but New Orleans (served with sticks of real butter), to the appetizer, salad and entrée. We had the oysters with brie appetizer (delicious), the crab salad and the veal Marsala, probably the best example of this dish I have every had. Local beers (Abita) and a good selection of wines by the glass are available. Don't understand how it can be #78 in New Orleans, it is currently #1 in my book.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    47
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“one of my faves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I love this restaurant. It is not for everyone. For any visitor to New Orleans, you must know that this is the closest thing to a private club in the city. People dress up, they go in groups, they drink too much, they table hop and they cut up. For someone wishing to spend a quiet evening at an elegant restaurant, do not think about Clancy's. You have to be ready for the noise factor and for the fun. People are so happy to be there that tourists end up meeting locals. But, there is a snob factor. Jeans and t-shirts? Sure. Corner table in Siberia. You will get in but you won't fit in. Just put on a blazer and some nice trousers.
Once you get in you will be treated to some of the best creole food in the city. Fresh french bread comes out warm and goes down with soft butter and wine. When it gets cold, they bring you a new loaf. Don't forget the peppermint ice cream or lemon ice box pie. Oysters are great, crabmeat is lumped and fresh. I wonder if they have some agreement with the Louisiana crabs as this is THE Place for crab. Also, food can be seasonal so be sure to get creole tomatoes in summer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Place in Uptown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Clancy's puts the uptown in uptown. This great place has been serving delectable New Orleans treats for decades. It has a great bar and loud stuffy atmosphere that makes it hum with happiness. The favorites like tout almandine are always their but also go after the oyster appetizer or the soft shell crab if in season.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a trip to uptown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

our 1st visit & we will be back. Clancy's crabmeat salad was very good. The veal was some of the best i have ever had. great wine selection!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a great restaurant. Went with six people. Food was outstanding. A little challenging getting return cab ride back to downtown.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clancy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clancy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.