We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for a fancier meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muriel's Jackson Square

Muriel's Jackson Square
801 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3206 (French Quarter)
504-568-1885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muriel's Jackson Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 1,514 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: St. Ann
Description: The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a fancier meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Right in the French Quarters next to Jackson Square. Our waitress was excellent, food was very good, atmosphere was very pleasing. They do have a live jazz band Sunday brunch, but we weren't able to experience it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,402
    553
    162
    54
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quinlan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is really nice. We go back every year. We love Mickey the bartender, he makes the best drinks and he is very friendly and knows alot of the history!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I ate here while on our honeymoon. The service was excellent--our waitress Leah made sure we had everything we needed. The bartender sent over two glasses of complimentary champagne, since we were on our honeymoon, which was very nice. We were at Muriel's during August, which is COOlinary month in New Orleans. We ordered off the special 3 course menu for $35 per person and were not disappointed. I had shrimp and goat cheese crepes, pecan crusted baby drum and pan perdu bread pudding. My husband had turtle soup, BBQ shrimp and butterscotch pudding. We both agreed that while our entire meal was delicious, the appetizers were our favorite part of the meal. I really enjoyed how the staff did not rush our meal. We had about 10-15 minutes between each course, so the meal had a slow pace.

At the end of the meal I asked about the ghost that haunts Muriel's. The waitress told us the story and let us go upstairs to the Seance Lounge where the ghost resides. I did not see a ghost, but I did appreciate that the waitress took the time to tell us the story and let us investigate the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Best in Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We return to this restaurant time and time again and are never disappointed. The setting is wonderful, so full of historic charm. The bar area is apparently haunted but have seen no evidence of this! There is a wonderful fixed price menu which has some superb choices on it. It has never let us down. Wonderful place to eat in the French Quarter, right on Jackson Sq so perfect!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fabulous haunted eats!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we had a lovely dinner with impeccable service. the food was divine. the building is typical of the french quarter and has quite a history...make sure you ask about the table set for one!! bon appetit!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriel's Jackson Square also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Muriel's Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muriel's Jackson Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.