We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every bite was amazing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muriel's Jackson Square

Muriel's Jackson Square
801 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3206 (French Quarter)
504-568-1885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muriel's Jackson Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,612 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: St. Ann
Description: The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Every bite was amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

On our spur-of-the-moment road trip to NOLA this week, we took the advice of our pedal-cab guide, Bella, who recommended Muriels for dinner. We chose to sit in the open courtyard area where we could people watch. Though it was late in the evening, we had had a long day and needed to munch, so we chose to eat picnic style and share. Tomato & Mozzarella with Prosciutto with a drizzle of pesto sauce, Chicken with shiitaki mushroom soup, and spinach salad with hot bacon dressing and pecans. No words can describe the amazing flavor of each bite. They say that "nothing is as good as the first bite of something"...I can attest to the inacurracy of that statement...Every bite was intense, and full of pleasure! The staff was professional and friendly & the presentation was upscale. The restaurant is off the beaten path, and more of a local eatery, rather than a tourist spot. Highly recommended. Ask your local guide to point you in the right direction for a truly delightful dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,158
    465
    133
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“atmosphere, food, service, all perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have eaten at Muriel's many times at lunch but this was our first dinner experience. we had a large table. It was Super Bowl weekend and we still were seated immediately, service was impecable, food to die for and the atmosphere is upbeat and fun but upscale too! Perfect night!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Service was impeccable, food was fantastic and overall vibe was the best. My wife had the puppy drum and I had the pork chops from the prix fix menu. Chicken mushroom soup was delicious, creme brulee and bread pudding were the perfect end for the meal and the best we've had in so long. Definitely will return every time we are back in the quarter. Had Justin wines which was a plus in my book.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I were in town for the Super Bowl and watched our Ravens again become World Champions! Muriel's was recommended by a local friend and so we decided to stop by for a late breakfast/early lunch before the big game. Great food in NOLA is the standard so we were expecting nothing less. We walked in with no reservation and were seated immediately by a smiling face. Our server Jessica was warm, knowledgable, and efficient. My wife had the shrimp and goat cheese crepes in an excellent remoulade sauce. Simply delicious. I had the shrimp and andouille sausage omelette stuffed with onions and peppers topped with a creole sauce garnished with the best homemade biscuit I've ever eaten and diced fried potatoes. Excellent. Their variation of eggs Benedict also looked incredible but I will save that for another visit.

We were also indulged with the story of Antoine the resident ghost of the property which made the mimosas and Bloody Mary's (garnished with pickled okra) taste better as we chatted. We then went and toured the upstairs which is decorated in tasteful gaudy and great. We spent the next 45 minutes on the balcony people watching with no pressure from the staff to order more drinks. Just a wonderful experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Because I cannot six stars...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went there Super Bowl Sunday with party of 6. We were well taken care of with two servers. We ordered the Sunday Brunch with Sezaracs for all. Much fun was had by all guests and the prices were reasonable. The omelets were all done well. None of the dishes were exotic or too spicy. The ala carte menu was diverse. The hostess was sharp and well put together and cheery for such a busy day with fans of both teams enjoying this place. I would love to return here for a normal Sunday

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriel's Jackson Square also viewed

 

Been to Muriel's Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muriel's Jackson Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.