We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Because I cannot six stars...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muriel's Jackson Square

Muriel's Jackson Square
801 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3206 (French Quarter)
504-568-1885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muriel's Jackson Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,601 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: St. Ann
Description: The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Because I cannot six stars...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went there Super Bowl Sunday with party of 6. We were well taken care of with two servers. We ordered the Sunday Brunch with Sezaracs for all. Much fun was had by all guests and the prices were reasonable. The omelets were all done well. None of the dishes were exotic or too spicy. The ala carte menu was diverse. The hostess was sharp and well put together and cheery for such a busy day with fans of both teams enjoying this place. I would love to return here for a normal Sunday

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    1,001
    416
    115
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went to Muriel's to sit on the veranda for a drink. We told the staff that as we arrived and they were most accommodating. We got drinks at the bar and walked past the ghost's table, upstairs, and onto the porch overlooking Jackson Square. It was a wonderful respite. The staff is nice, the drinks well mixed and, we've heard Muriel's has excellent food, too. We'll return to stay longer. We didn't see the ghost, but it was mid-afternoon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We've dined at Muriel's several times and have never been disappointed. Chef Gus produces excellent meals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We enjoyed going upstairs to see the 'Seance Room,' taking pictures and going out onto the balcony to look out over Jackson Square.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My friends and I went there to celebrate my birthday. We had reservations so were taken right in. There were 2 servers assigned to us so we received excellent service. Everyone enjoyed their food and we had all chosen something differen. We chose the pre-fixe menu, which was a very good value. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“We always recommend Muriel's to visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We always tell visiting friends to forget Galatoire's and go to Muriel's. It is fun, the food is great and it has true New Orleans ambiance. You'll find patrons dressed from casual business to dressy and occasionally tourist casual. You will be treated well and you'll love the food which is reasonably priced for a white linen restaurant with such a superb location: right off Jackson Square at the corner by the cathedral. And for added lagniappe, the place is haunted! Yep, there is a resident ghost known to snatch items from under your nose if you are not watchful! If you are seated in the main dining room, ask your wait staff about the portraits hanging there. The bar area is lively and really attractive so if you have to wait a bit for a table, you will enjoy the time. If you need to park, you can usually find space in the large lots on Chartres heading towards Canal. These lots get commandeered during major events, though, so be forewarned.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriel's Jackson Square also viewed

 

Been to Muriel's Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muriel's Jackson Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.