We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, overlooking Jackson Square and Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muriel's Jackson Square

Muriel's Jackson Square
801 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3206 (French Quarter)
504-568-1885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muriel's Jackson Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: St. Ann
Description: The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, overlooking Jackson Square and Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been here several times and always enjoy. Wait staff is very attentive and the menu is diverse.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    486
    137
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Satisfying and Entertaining Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This restaurant is large. It has 2 main dining areas, and then another in the back, as well as a lounge area upstairs. We ate in the dining room to the left when you walk in. The other room is painted red.

The decor was very nice with a lot of cute objects around the room. I ordered from the pre fix menu, so I received shrimp and goat cheese crepes, the famous BBQ shrimp and bread pudding. The crepes were tasty and the BBQ shrimp arrived with large shrimp with heads on...so I decided to use my fingers! The sause was delicious and it was a great choice. Bread pudding was good too. My husband ordered the pork chip and loved it.

Our waiter, Clarke, was super nice and accomodating. Everyone working in New Orleans for the Xmas season was working really hard for a number of days now, and I am sure they were all getting a little tired. But Clark was so great to us and we enjoyed his service sooo much. He even took us upstairs to see the 2nd floor, which I think has to be reserved for special occasions. (Not sure). So he led us toward the stairs, showing usthe table set for the resident ghost at the base...and then up into the 2nd floor landing, which had a great view of the long graceful white curtains and tables below. (There is a bar in this area as well, on the 1st floor, which is back where the restrooms are.) Clarke opened the door and we were inside a beautiful luxurious red room which was similar to the Foundation Room at the House of Blues in Las Vegas (although no where near as large as LV.)...it was all so wonderful.

I recommend this place because they don't make you feel rushed, the food is authentic and the atmosphere is very New Orleans-like.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best Food in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

You have to eat here! My friend and I were recommended by my aunt and uncle to have lunch here and were we happy that we did. I have a seafood allergy (yeah, I know...why did I go to the seafood capital of the world?), and they were able to accommodate me by cooking the best blackened chicken I have ever had in my life in a pan that did not have seafood cooked in it. I loved this blackened chicken atop my spinach salad so much (they made it that way, per my request), that I asked the waiter to ask the cook, if he would come home with me. The service was phenomenal and my friend had the catfish special and she mopped up her plate with that awesome, freshly baked bread, just to enjoy every last drop of what she called the best, most interesting flavored sauce she's ever had on a fish before. This place is a gem and I would definitely go back there to eat if I was ever to find myself in New Orleans again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch, Part of The French Quarter Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

During our month long stay in New Orleans we had a chance to try several places for Sunday brunch and Muriel's was our favorite. Wonderful Eggs Benedict and they make a great Bloody Mary.

The street scene just outside the high windows is great for people watching and I believe the music was by The Gumbo Trio, classic New Orleans Jazz.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Dinner at Muriel\s”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Muriel's was recommended as a good special occaission place for a New Year's dinner. It proved hard to get a later reservation, so we were seated at 5pm. Food and drink were very good, and the atmosphere is great. Service, and quality are top notch. Prices reflect the quality of the establishment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriel's Jackson Square also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Muriel's Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muriel's Jackson Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.