We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local not so secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Crepe Nanou

La Crepe Nanou
1410 Robert St, New Orleans, LA 70115 (Uptown)
(504) 899-2670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 1,514 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Uptown
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“local not so secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Although this little gem has been around for 30 yrs., I have just recently started enjoying the food & company this local restaurant has to offer. Miss Josie, the owner & long time manager, as well as her son Rich have put their hearts into establishing fine dining in an unpretentious atmosphere. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. On my most recent visit, one of the nightly specials was a peppered grouper. It was perfectly prepared, light & flaky served with saute vegetables. Possibly the best preparation of grouper I have ever had.
Locals & visitors alike, if you haven't been to LaCrepe Nanou, or haven't been there recently, it's time to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“A little French in New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Food was just above average, but overall experience is a great one. The place is set up like a French Bistro and the atmosphere is very Parisian and romantic. The food is nothing to brag about. The variety of crepes are their signature dish, but there are other items there for you to choose from.

The real charm of the place is to have a nice relaxing slow meal in a nice romantic setting with lots of charm. It will feel like you are dining in Montmartre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely little place off the beaten track but on the streetcar line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a big cab ride expense -about $12 from the French Quarter but an easy 1 block walk over from the streetcar line. This tiny restaurant, reminiscent of the ones in Paris, is tucked away in an almost-all-grand residential area. The food is delicious, as is the ambience and wait staff.
Get off the main list and go here for a glass of Lillet, wonderful pates, escargots, and a crab crepe. My husband devoured the whole fish special. Finish with some glasses of their Rhone wine and you will think you are in Paris except for the French conversations around you. Delightful!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've lived in New Orleans and, as anyone who has been there knows, the competition among good restaurants in the Big Easy is stiff. Regardless, when my wife and I are looking for a restaurant to celebrate a special occasion, or simply to make an ordinary meeting into a special occasion, this is our favorite place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Charming and Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The wine was great, the cheese board was delicious. I had the onion and cheese crepe for dinner, my comanion had crab and spinach. Everything was wonderful. We went on a weeknight so had no wait. I am defintely coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Crepe Nanou also viewed

 

Been to La Crepe Nanou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Crepe Nanou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.