We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Crepe Nanou

La Crepe Nanou
1410 Robert St, New Orleans, LA 70115 (Uptown)
(504) 899-2670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Uptown
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visited friends in Metairie who took us to this Uptown eatery. The name may include "crepe" but ii's far more than that. I had the Tropical salad which was a delight, with hearts of palm, artichokes, avocado. The salmon crepe was excellent as were the lamb chops, veal, filet and sweetbreads. Service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    28
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of a kind experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Get there about 20 minutes before it opens, there will be a line.
Fabulous food! Nanou is a chef who sailed over to the U.S. from France in a boat, and when he got here sold the boat and started a restaurant in the 1980's. Start with the cheese Fondue and a bottle of wine. It is like no other Fondue I have had. All of the Crepe's are good, but my favorite is the roast chicken. I ask for it with Bernaise sauce. You can get to this place by taking the St. Charles street car and then walking two blocks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect, but it far exceeded anything I had been imagining. My sister took me here one night and we ordered two cocktails (hers was something with Gin and mine was a Kir Royale- delicious) and crepes. I ordered the Crepe au Poulet and she ordered the Crepe Bourguignonne. Both were so good that even after we were full we kept eating because we couldn't bear to leave any on the plates! Definitely going to be one of my new favorites.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Keep expecting it to be great, but it's not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a restaurant who's name, location, building, and theme position it to be a unique and excellent experience, but the food just doesn't measure up. The crepes aren't BAD, they're just mediocre. The same is true of most of the other dishes. Four of us dined this particular night, and none of the dishes impressed.

Further, little changes over the years. There is little innovation or effort with the menu. OK, the mussels and frites are good, but that's a pretty simple dish. I will continue to visit every year or two, but if it lived up to its potential it would be a regular stop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Crepe Nanou is great but does get busy with locals. Try to make a reservation if you can. It is worth the wait. FYI, La Thai across the street has excellent Thai dishes with a Louisiana twist. Eat there if you can and ALSO go to St. James Cheese Place for excellent gourmet meat and cheese basket to take back to your hotel with a bottle of Wine Cellar wine(also next door.) Oh yeah, and there is also Creole Creamery for dessert. You wont be disappointed

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Crepe Nanou also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to La Crepe Nanou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Crepe Nanou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.