We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gumbo Shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Shop

Gumbo Shop
630 Saint Peter St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3214 (French Quarter)
504-525-1486
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Established in 1948, The Award Winning Gumbo Shop features a wide range of New Orleans cuisine at its finest. Enjoy fantastic customer service and great food. Patrons are also welcome to order from our full wine list including 30 Wines by the Glass.Gumbo Shop is located at 630 St. Peters Street, 1/2 block from Jackson Square in the French Quarter. As the name implies, gumbo is a fixture on the menu, but our menu also features Creole and Cajun inspired dishes that represent New Orleans' truly unique cuisine. Gumbo Shop was founded in 1948 in a former French Quarter home built in the late 1700's. The building represents a typical French Quarter layout with central courtyard and former kitchen in the rear. For the past 20 consecutive years, Gumbo Shop has received the "Best of New Orleans" best place to eat gumbo from Gambit, a local publication that relies on reader polls to determine the winners in all categories.
Dongguan, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gumbo Shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I recommend giving the Gumbo Shop a try! The food and drinks are good! Do not be surprised if there is a little bit of a wait when you show up for dinner- the line for a table moves fairly quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Glad we could get you seated and taken care of so quickly! Thanks for your patience, and for the kind words. See you next time you're in NOLA!

Regards,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    538
    209
    72
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Should've known better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location and name of this place had me a little worried right off the back. The restaurant is located just off Jackson Square and probably pulls in a ton of tourist traffic. The atmosphere and decor are actually not bad, and the courtyard seating is pretty impressive. However, the food was mediocre at best. I had the jambalaya, while my girlfriend had the seafood gumbo. Neither was particularly good or particularly bad. It was just an incredibly lackluster and forgettable meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
While we do feel incredibly fortunate to welcome a good number of out of town guests, we are also proud to serve locals as well. As such, it's disappointing that you and your girlfriend walked away dissatisfied, and we apologize. We want every bite to wow you, and we know we can do better than this, so we'll relay your comments to our kitchen. Thanks for your candor.

Regards,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Best gumbo ever. Awesome melon daiquiris! We stopped by there on my last night and got one to go. Highly recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Refreshing melon daiquiris + rich gumbo = a great combination! Glad to see that you loved every bite. See you next time you're in town!

Cheers,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good NOLA food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Just plain good. Friendly and professional service. All your deep south favorites on the menu. Good portion size at very reasonable prices. I suggest sitting out side underneath the sky. That's where we sat and I absolutely believe that it added to my whole experience there. Loved it. Good for family or adult time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We're proud to offer all your favorite Southern dishes on one menu! It sounds like you had a fabulous time with us, and we're glad it was cool enough for you to enjoy our patio. Thank you, and stop by next time you're in town!

All the best,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bellbrook, Ohio, Usa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, not too pricy. Just what you would expect in NO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We tried a few items we had not had before and were not disappointed. It was all delicious. Atmosphere was average, but the good food made up for it. So glad we went. Was recomended to us by a waitress at another big name resturant and she was right, it was good local food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
When in New Orleans, a delicious bowl of gumbo is an absolute "must," so it's great to hear you found us! It seems like you had the chance to try out quite a few items from our menu — what was your favorite? We'll look forward to serving up authentic New Orleans cuisine to you and your family next time you're in town!

All the best,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Shop also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.