We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Shop

Gumbo Shop
630 Saint Peter St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3214 (French Quarter)
504-525-1486
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Established in 1948, The Award Winning Gumbo Shop features a wide range of New Orleans cuisine at its finest. Enjoy fantastic customer service and great food. Patrons are also welcome to order from our full wine list including 30 Wines by the Glass.Gumbo Shop is located at 630 St. Peters Street, 1/2 block from Jackson Square in the French Quarter. As the name implies, gumbo is a fixture on the menu, but our menu also features Creole and Cajun inspired dishes that represent New Orleans' truly unique cuisine. Gumbo Shop was founded in 1948 in a former French Quarter home built in the late 1700's. The building represents a typical French Quarter layout with central courtyard and former kitchen in the rear. For the past 20 consecutive years, Gumbo Shop has received the "Best of New Orleans" best place to eat gumbo from Gambit, a local publication that relies on reader polls to determine the winners in all categories.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our first time in New Orleans and we wanted somewhere to sit down for a light lunch on our first day. What a nice little gem to find in the French Quarter! My wife and I both had gumbo and it was really good; rich, earthy and full of flavour (although I would have preferred it slightly spicier). Served with the lightest baguette style bread I've ever had, my bowl ended up nice and clean as I mopped up every bit of liquid! The service was very friendly and quick. Certainly not fine dining by any means but what we had was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We're glad you found us, Alan! It sounds like you and your wife had a fabulous time sampling our favorite flavors, and we're thrilled to hear it. Come back and see us next time you're in town, and let us know if there's anything else we can do to show you a five-star experience!

Regards,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    536
    209
    72
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not bad; far from gourmet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of the French Quarter, the Gumbo Shop has a very nice ambiance. The food is good but not great. I started with the okra gumbo; small portion with a satisfying taste. That said, I have had better in the area. I ordered the blackened redfish. I know it was not redfish but the waitress didn't clarify what it really was. For the price I suspect it was not the "typical" substitute of drum; to me it felt closer to tilapia, but I really don't know. The fish was nonetheless tasty. Prices are reasonable for the area. A good economical restaurant but if you want "excellent" food there are better choices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We take pride in serving authentic Cajun and Creole cuisine, so it's disappointing that our gumbo was not to your liking. We're sorry about that, and that your server was unable to better describe your dish. We'll discuss this with our team, and we truly appreciate your honest feedback. Your comments will be of great aid as we move forward.

Best wishes,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“eh...not that impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

You may have to take this review with a grain of salt, meaning, I am NOT from New Orleans and probably rely on my husband's gumbo and jambalaya (He is a chef in Iowa trained in Pittsburg CIA) to compare with. Ok, so I ordered the sample platter with substitution (Gumbo, Jambalaya, Crawfish Etouffe) so was it good? Yes. Was it mind blowing? Hell No. Was it exciting? Double Hell no... And yes...it was not hot like the kitchen staff followed the food temp regulations. It was luke warm. Pro - Seasoning was mild enough for someone who "does not like spicy" as I had a companion. Waiter was pleasant and food arrived super fast. Location is cozy down a brick corner. Garlic Tabasco...(Gumbo shop spicy sauce) was ready at hand to up the flavor. Con - Gumbo shop spicy sauce...why do I have to do this if the food was seasoned right. Food appeared prepared by batch and reheated in the kitchen (this may not be the truth but it gave me this impression). The shrimp 'po boy eaten by the guy next to us appeared very good and he said it is "yummy". Will I go back? Sorry...that is an extra seat for 'ya all out here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good or bad, we are always happy to receive feedback from our guests. Given your familiarity with this type of cuisine, we truly appreciate your detailed review, and we're glad to address your concerns.

Every bite should excite the senses, so we're sorry to hear that we fell short. It seems that our spice level wasn't to your liking. We try to maintain a medium spice to satisfy all of our customers, but we're always happy to turn up the heat—don't hesitate to ask!

In regard to our preparation, we can assure you that all of our dishes are prepared and heated to food temperature regulations. It's no trouble at all for us to bring you a new dish if the temperature is not to your liking. Again, just notify one of our servers and we'll get it out right away.

We wish that we had been able to wow you with a five-star experience, but we know that we have what it takes to blow you away next time. We hope to have another opportunity to prove that! Until then, thanks for your candor.

All the best,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good service, good spot for vegetarians or the less adventurous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

They offer a wide selection of Creole dishes for very reasonable prices. You cannot make reservations--you will have to wait in line but it moves very quickly. The service is amazingly fast and down-home friendly. This is also apparently one of the very few restaurants that is Vegetarian friendly and has a different specific vegetarian creole dish every night as well as a standard vegetarian gumbo. The food was good, but we were a group who prefers the truly spicy versions of Creole food and all had to add hot sauce to our dishes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We're proud to offer a great taste of New Orleans to both vegetarians and carnivores alike! While it seems like you and your group enjoyed sampling our take on Cajun and Creole cuisine, we're sorry that some of our dishes weren't spicy enough for your liking. We like to maintain a medium spice level for our guests, but we're always happy to turn up the heat—just let us know! Thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome all of you back next time you're in town!

Cheers,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our first trip to New Orleans and the Gumbo Shop was the first restaurant that we ate at. Nothing even came close in comparison for the remainder of our trip. The crawfish etouffee was amazing. Our waitress was extremely friendly and the the prices were great for the amount of food that we received. We are back home in Montana and have been already planning our next trip to New Orleans and we will definitely be back the the Gumbo Shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you to New Orleans! Thank you for taking the time to share your story. Come back and see us next time you're in town—we'll have that Crawfish Etouffee ready for you!

Cheers,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Shop also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.