We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer and music!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margaritaville Cafe

Margaritaville Cafe
1104 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-2606 (French Quarter)
+1 504-592-2565
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Margaritaville New Orleans – once a state of mind is now a state of being and a landmark in New Orleans’ French Market. Margaritaville embraces the mythical world defined by the insightful lyrics of singer/songwriter Jimmy Buffett for over three decades. Characters both local and from prose and poem create an entertaining atmosphere that brings to life the search for the legendary lost shaker of salt. From the Tire Swing Bar to the Deja Vu Dining Room, Margaritaville is a colorful tableau of New Orleans Culture and Buffett philosophy.The island-inspired menu offers something for everyone with American and regional favorites and, of course, signature Margaritas. The Storyville Tavern features free live music daily from 3pm.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great beer and music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped in to cool off and rest. Great live music in the bar. A lot of cool memorabilia on the walls. This bar was not as crowded or loud as others in the area! I would definitely stop in again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Cafe, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
momandt1 - Thank you for coming in to beat the heat! We're very happy our cool concoctions and live music helped cool you off and we hope to have you back for more fun soon!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    200
    118
    39
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
“A fun place, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This restaurant goes thru the block so has two entrances, one on each street. One enters into the restaurant, the other into the bar. We happened to go in the one that was near the bar. There was a hostess who was leading us to the dining room when I noticed the singer in the bar. One of the reasons we chose to go here was the reviews that indicated there was live music, so we asked if the live music was only in the bar area. She said yes, so we asked to be seated in there. It turned out the singer that was performing was pretty bad, but it was still more fun that nothing. We decided to order a cup of their crab/corn chowder to share because it sounded so delicious, and to share an order of beef fajitas. The waitress was a little clueless. After placing our order there was quite a wait. Then as the waitress passed by our table she said, "Your fajitas are almost ready." I said, "We were hoping to get our soup first." She acted like that had never occurred to her, but said she'd get it right up, which she did. We were still eating the soup when the fajitas arrived, but they were super hot so it didn't matter if they waited a few minutes to be eaten. The chowder was really good, a little spicy but not bad, and the fajitas were really yummy. I hadn't realized that there were two entrances to the restaurant, and a few days later when we were walking around the French Quarter, we came across Jimmy Buffet's, but it looked entirely different. We walked in to discover the dining room and then realized that it went through the block with an entrance on both streets. I must say the decorations in the dining room are really fun! Tables and chairs painted with fun colors and designs and a part of a boat coming out of one wall. So the atmosphere in the dining room is a whole lot nicer, but the live music is only in the bar and the atmosphere there is a lot more casual - you have to chose. The chowder was $4.99 and the fajitas were $15.99. A very good meal. We will be looking for this chain in other cities that we visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Cafe, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Saxeygirl - Thank you for coming in for a visit! We apologize for the confusion over your soup and your order, but are pleased that overall you had a nice experience with us. We will share all of your valuable feedback with the team, including your thoughts on the live music and decor around the venue. We hope to see you back in Margaritaville soon!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Storyville...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a few margaritas. Anthony our bartender was really great. It was like hanging out with an old friend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were hot and starving and figured we could get a predictably good meal here. It was just average. I had a veggie burger that was falling apart and was not very good. Fries were good and hot though. I have been to many Margaritaville locations and this experience was not what we have had in the past.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Cafe, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
trooper912 - We are very sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations. We never want to be just OK. You should always expect the best from us, especially when you need some R&R and a break from the heat, so your feedback will be taken to heart.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“EXACTLY AS EXPECTED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

REVIEW FOR STORYVILLE TAVERN PORTION OF MARGARITAVILLE:
If you are a Buffett fan you have been to a Margaritaville before. We've been to 8 and visit the New Orleans location a couple times per year.
They've alway got a pretty good live music act going on and you can usually find a seat.
Happy hour during the week is quite the deal.

Con: -Service every time we visit is not terrible but certainly has room for improvement.
- The beer is not as cold as I'd like. Maybe the pint glass just came out of the dishwasher and was hot?

Pro: -Spicy onion rings are amazing. I wish all the Margaritaville locations had these!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
ericjbabin - Thank you for all your visits! We want to make sure we just have a pro list during your next trip in, so your feedback will be shared with the team. We hope to see you back for more fun times and live music soon!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritaville Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Margaritaville Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaritaville Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.