We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, great fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mona Lisa Restaurant

Mona Lisa Restaurant
1212 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
(504) 522-6746
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good pizza, great fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Mona Lisa is a little pizza joint tucked into the 'quiet side' of the Quarter. The lines can be long, so plan to get there early. Once you are seated you will enjoy some nice thin crust pizza, plus they give you crayons so you can create your own masterpiece on your paper tablecloth!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    106
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Casual yummy Pizza. And crayons!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good thin-crust american style pizza. Crayons provided for artistic inspiration. Previous visitors's art is on the walls. A quarter institution.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Their signature sandwich is the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Have been going to this restaurant for over 25 years. My favorite item: Mona Lisa sandwich. Whenever in NOLA I always go here for lunch and dinner. Italian foods are very good with generous portions (read: leftovers for tomorrow's lunch). Good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Little Spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We happened upon this little place as we were taking a walk in the French Quarter and decided to go back one evening for dinner and could not have been more happy that we did. We ordered a Cheese and Sausage Pizza and a Mediterranean Salad. Both were delicious.
We are live in Chicago and get back to NOLA fairly often and we will surely go back for Pasta next time. The menu is quite extensive for a small and intimate place. They have at least 15 different Pasta dishes and several varieties of salads and Pizzas in addition to sandwiches and appetizers.
If you find yourself in NOLA, do try the Mona Lisa at 1212 Royal Street. The only negative I can say is that they don't take reservations. We had to wait about 20 minutes but we had the opportunity to talk some other quests who were waiting for a table. We went at 7:00 pm which seemed to be the prime time. Around 8:00 pm tables started to clear out. It seemed to be mostly locals. Great little place with lots of atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Local Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Recommended by David, the doorman at the Hotel Monteleone, as a restaurant where local employees like to go for pizza, we ventured down Royal Street nearly to the edge of the French Quarter (an easy walk, really). Imagine every artistic drawing, painting, and picture of DaVince's Mona Lisa and they're hanging on the walls here. The food was great: Dinner for two (non-alcholic beverages and no dessert) was less than $50. Worth the walk and the fact it has been around for more than thirty years makes it part of the fabric of the city.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mona Lisa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mona Lisa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.