We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mona Lisa Restaurant

Mona Lisa Restaurant
1212 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
(504) 522-6746
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 1,515 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Waited an hour for a table, but worth the wait, went to the red gravy but was closed for mardi gras, someone said to go here, glad we did, great food, and the price is the best in new orleans

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    120
    24
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sappington, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Different, But In a Good Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

There are plenty of places in the FQ that are different. But Mona Lisa is different in a way that makes you want to come back.
We just happened on it while walking around on a Sunday and are happy we did.
The interior walls are full of different Mona Lisa images by talented (and some not-so-talented) artists and it is worth going to just look at them while waiting for your meal. Definitely a "fun kind of different".
Great food-primarily Italian, not surprisingly. Prepared with a slightly creative touch but not so much to be considered strange or even overly eclectic. Look at it as the standards with a little twist.
Clientele as well as the server were classic FQ NOLA types.
This would be a must-return spot the next time I visit. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had walked by this place many times, but didn't go until we had read the positive reviews on trip advisor. It was only a couple blocks from our hotel, in the quieter area of the French Quarter. The aroma meets you as soon as you step inside. We ordered Mardi Gras pasta and seafood pasta. Both were excellent and accompanied with a side salad and a very tasty wedge of a sort of cheese bread/pizza. Our meal including a coke and a glass of wine was just under $40. Frequented by as many locals as tourists, so ..... That says it al!,,

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Above average food, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Me in my wife made a trip to New Orleans and chose this restaurant because of its convenience to
our hotel....The food is very good, excellent Italian dishes. The pics on the wall of different designed Mona Lisa's is pretty cool too. The location of this restaurant couldnt be better as it is in the heart of the French Quarter. Definitely pick this over pick up food. If you only can eat out nice one meal on your trip, eat here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic little italian restaurant on beautiful Royal St”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I loved this restaurant. I was a first time visitor to Mona Lisa. I ordered the first thing listed on the menu - the Mardi Gras pasta, which is linguini in a red/ pink sauce with chunks of sausage and some nice shrimp. The pasta dish was incredibly good. I did not drink alcohol with this dinner, and my bill including salad and soda came out to maybe $22. Very nice place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa Restaurant also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Mona Lisa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mona Lisa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.