We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camellia Grill

Camellia Grill
626 S Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-1008
504-309-2679
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,628 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I'm so glad we came! The food was good, not great, but the experience was worth it. The atmosphere was great and the servers are a key reason. If you're in the city, make sure to take the Streetcar for $1.25 to the Garden District. It's part of the experience and you'll get to see more if the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    222
    44
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average burgers but great diner experiece”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Camellia Grill is known for their burgers and while they are pretty good, I wouldn't say that they are anything special. It is rather inexpensive and they have a great breakfast however. The lineup could be long though, especially on the weekends. It is a unique diner experience though.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“neat experience, food just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The experience was pretty neat. The servers barking out orders and such. The atmosphere is cool. But the breakfast food is just ok, certainly nothing special

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredibly Delicious & fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This might be one of the Best hidden secrets in New Orleans. While all the tourist are hustling and bustling around the French Quarter, you should sneak away on the street car and head to uptown and the original Camelia Grill. The food is very very good! And the waitstaff is extremely friendly and entertaining! You will not be disappointed with your meal here. But, take my advice… Whatever you order you must at least try one pancake! They are out of this world!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awful experience there. Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We went there the last Saturday (02/01/14) with my parents to have breakfast. Once inside we asked for a place and the girl there told us in a very bad way that we had to wait. While waiting, my wife gently took a menu to look at it with my parents before sitting. At that precise moment, and without telling us a word, the employee girl on the entrance took off the menu off my wife's hands in a VERY RUDE way. She was very intimidating. After watching her attitude we decided to go to other place. There are a lot of nice places to go where you are going to receive a good atention. I think anyone deserves that. The place is always full, so probably that's the reason why they treat customers like that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camellia Grill also viewed

 

Been to Camellia Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camellia Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.