We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diner Food with Even Better Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camellia Grill

Camellia Grill
626 S Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-1008
504-309-2679
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 1,606 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Diner Food with Even Better Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I would not have stopped in except for the recommendation from a colleague. So glad I did. With highest praise I say that it is an old school countertop diner style restaurant on a corner of the French Quarter. As soon as you sit, one of the cooks/servers is there with you and stays attentive until you leave. The burgers are fantastic (I highly recommend the one eyed jack with a fried egg on the patty), old fashioned milk shakes and delicious fries. I heard they have awesome desserts but I was way too full. It's hard to find such terrific friendly service and attention. They make you feel like a star and full as a tick!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    380
    206
    42
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Taste New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was such an affordable taste of Nwe Orleans food and lively, engaging environment. Pecan waffles for all!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The mother of all omlettes and a chocolate shake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Oh my! You've got to try this place. There are two, the original and a "new" one in the quarter. We went to the one in the quarter. I've forgotten which street it was on. First off, this is a diner. Don't expect a fancy place. Secondly it will be crowded!! The wait isn't too bad. Remember that when you're eating though, because when you're done, the host will come stand over your shoulder to remind you to move on. Also only one refill on coffee, to keep you from lingering. It's worth it though!! Just go try it. Oh! And have a freeze for breakfast. It's worth it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An old time favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I used to go to this venue when I used to live in NOLA. A "greasy spoon" dinernwith burgers, fries, omelettes etc. It has become very popular so there was a line to go in but once I sat at the counter and listened to all the jokes by the waiters I realized It was exactly like 15 years ago. Surely worth a visit. Make sure you go to the original one uptown.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dependable quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

THE place for breakfast. Counter seating for all and classic diner-type service from friendly folks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camellia Grill also viewed

 

Been to Camellia Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camellia Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.