We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time As Always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
+1 504-899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,665 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Time As Always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 NEW

We have eaten at Commanders for Sunday Brunch every time when in New Orleans for probably the last 25-30 years..... And it is always a treat! They also did not escape Hurricane Katrina which did extensive damage to the beautiful gardens as well as to the buildings themselves but thankfully they did survive! We were a large party and had wonderful service. My only complaint is that several long time favorites were missing from the Brunch choices...... Eggs Sardou, Shrimp Remoulade, another Egg, Asparagus & Crab dish (can't remember the name), etc. Also the salad choice with citrus fruit really missed the mark - made too far ahead I guess- very soggy. One of the best choices was, as always, the Stuffed Quail. Will we be back ? - of course! We love it!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,804
    634
    299
    109
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal in a Lovely Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 NEW

Beautiful rooms, excellent service, and delicious food. Really one of the best places in New Orleans. Excellent turtle soup and terrific crawfish etoufee. Delicious soft-shelled crab. A deligthful evening. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Server ruined the experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 NEW

I am giving this three stars because the food was very good (5) and the service was an abomination (1).

I worked in a 5-star restaurant during college for 3 years so know what excellence in dining should be. My wife and I are not pretentious people (we still do McD's) but if the place is going to give airs of formalness and command the price they do need to earn it on ALL fronts starting with the reservation to the valet at the end of the night.

Here is our story:

Made a reservation for a special night a week in advance and were told we'd be given a "great table." We dressed elegantly and even arrived early for the 6pm reservation. We were the second table seated (party of three) and our "great table" was the first table in the door in the main flow of traffic from all directions. Disappointed that people sat later were wearing jeans (which is frowned upon) were given nicer tables than us (I in suit in the ladies in dresses).

The instant we were sat, the busser took away the extra place setting, while our waitress (Jennifer) moved table items about, then quickly picked up our cocktail menu and said water would be out shortly as she walked away.

We sat for 10 minutes with no menus, no water, no contact from Jennifer or anyone. All tables around us seemed to get bread, water, and menus while we got nothing.

After finally getting water, the waitress showed with menus and asked if we wanted cocktails. We asked if we could SEE the cocktail menu. She seemed irritated and hastily brought two back to us. Before any of us could look through them she was back give her advice with the finesse of a New York truck driver.

After cocktails were ordered we dove into the menus. Two minutes into looking at and discussing them and wine Jennifer was back to take our orders with more "firm" advice. With orders taken our garlic bread hit the table very quickly followed by our soup course. Before anyone could try the garlic bread it was taken away and replaced with some rather sad, old-tasting French bread. Half way through the soup our cocktails arrived.

We had ordered a bottle of wine with our main course. For a fancy place I was shocked that the wine steward poured our wine into the table glasses (they were not the appropriate stems for our selection yet other tables they seemed to get it right). We were also bothered by the fact that between the waitress and her helper (O'Dell) they kept "topping off" the wine glasses literally every 5 minutes even after we asked them to stop. It was as if they were forcing us to drink it at their pace.

The food was all delicious but the service ruined the night. Jennifer was not polished and her delivery was that of a smoking diner waitress with a pencil behind her ear. She barked at poor O'Dell, other coworkers, and even us.

Had a wonderful experience here several years ago.....won't be back again....ever.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An Enduring Icon of New Orleans Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 NEW

Commander's Palace is a cornerstone of New Orleans cuisine. Even though I just said that, I want to reinforce how meaningful that statement is. Commander's has been serving fine food for generations. It is culinary royalty. The staff treat all guests like royalty. Every effort is made to maintain an elegant dining experience. This comes with a big "But". While the food is absolutely divine, the ambiance is gorgeous, and the staff are the absolute best... there still permeates that light-hearted attitude you only see in New Orleans.
It's not cheap, but I have paid much more for much weaker meals. It's elegant, but not stuffy.
They actually try to make children happy with kids dishes, so you can bring everyone.
Commander's Palace is an absolute experience. Please do not skip it.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch food and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 NEW

Commander's Palace is definitely an experience that you want to take in if visiting New Orleans! The setting of the restaurant in the Garden District and the classic feel to the restaurant, really make it worth the time and money. We ate lunch there and had a magnificent meal. If you like specialty cocktails, try the Crescent City Cooler. I had one and my wife liked it so much, she had to order one for herself! They also have 25 cent martinis during the lunch hours. Definitely an experience you need to try.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.