We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful brunch, but they forgot the whiskey sauce for my bread pudding souffle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
+1 504-899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,537 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch, but they forgot the whiskey sauce for my bread pudding souffle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This really is all our friends said it would be. We loved everything they served us and couldn't finish it all. Three courses of wonderful. Our friend also go the bread pudding souffle and they put the whiskey sauce on with a flair. I asked where mine was, and he gave me the leftovers from my friends sauce and said they'd bring more. They forgot, though I was asked about it as I left. No apology for forgetting, so only rated 4 of 5. It really is a quirky building, but special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,102
    692
    341
    118
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Service at its best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The highlight of this restaurant is the wonderful staff that work here! Knowledgable, efficient, friendly.. By far the biggest price tag on our restaurant tour. Veal Chop-phenomenal! Exquisite wine list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

What is there to say thy hasn't been said already? Amazing meal, spectacular service and beautiful location. Turtle soup was so delicious that I just want to eat bowl after bowl. The tomato shrimp soup of the day was infused such delicious shrimp flavor that I wanted an never ending bowl. From the moment you walk in the staff makes you feel so welcome and our waiter Todd was beyond friendly and informative. He was very helpful in describing the dishes and helping you choose. I'm so happy to have finally been able to enjoy this wonderful place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A NOLA classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Went at Christmas time and enjoyed a great lunch as the carolers sang. Don't splurge, get every course, finish with the chocolate soufflé.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you're reading this, you're doing your homework and you know fine dining. Commander's Palace from the outside does not look like a fancy schmancy restaurant, in my opinion anyway - quirky and unique but does not echo fancy. But if you're doing your homework, know that this place has a dress code: no shorts, flip flops, t-shirts, sweat shirts/pants. That should cover any surprises that resulted in previous negative reviews. The service from start to end was courteous, respectful, and prompt.

My husband and I are not locals but we were in NOLA for a week and we like to eat and eat well, not exclusively 4/5 star restaurants but close. It was an anniversary dinner and it was noted on our reservation. CP made it special for us and it was as if everyone who served us made a note of congratulating us. Our dessert plates had written in chocolate "happy anniversary" on the rim.

Now for the food. We ordered the foie gras pain perdu. Amazing, highly recommend. My husband has consumed many foie gras over our years together and believed that this was by far the best. He got turtle soup and I the gumbo and we share everything. I wasn't blown away by the turtle soup (maybe it was the sherry) and I thought the gumbo had a strong barbeque influence which disappointed me a bit. I know every restaurant can have their own interpretation but I wanted CP's to be the best but instead it was just different. Husband ordered crispy soft shell crab and I lemon verbena roasted redfish. His crab was amazing - large, crispy yet tender, and flavorful. I was a little disappointed in my redfish because the sauce did not taste anything like lemon verbena but more of a courtbouillon that was a little salty to me. But the fish itself was moist with generous amounts of crab on top. We ordered the bread pudding souffle and pecan pie, both of which were delicious.

Overall, I would recommend CP and would return if we were ever to visit NOLA again. I only gave 4 stars because I am a little spoiled as a fine diner, and to receive 5 stars would have to be spectacular in every dish. CP would still be listed as a place I will remember because they were a part of our anniversary celebration and made it special for us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.