We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
+1 504-899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great food, atmosphere and old world style service are still the hallmark of this elegant restaurant. The turtle soup is absolutely the best and you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Oh - and don't forget the 25 cent martinis at lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,489
    549
    257
    99
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best Meal while in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

A venue the age and with the iconic status of Commander's Palace runs the risk of "resting upon its laurels" and getting stale and old.

I am thrilled to say that this is not the case with the current Commander's Palace.

Service was friendly without being too familiar.

The food was amazing and such a great showcase of the finest in creole, Cajun, and traditional french continental.

The venue is still stunning with windows letting in the sunlight and shades of green in the garden district.

We had turtle soup followed by a hearty cassolie on a chilly day. Finally, we finished with THE best bread pudding in New Orleans...the bread pudding souffle. We literally ordered bread pudding at every restaurant we visited and this stuff was just plain amazing.

Enjoy your meal at Commander's Palace with plenty of time to savor!

P.S. They also excel in great mixology, if you should care to sip some.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH MYRTLE BEACH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just as wonderful as imagined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We recently were down in New Orleans the weekend before Thanksgiving and got to experience Commander's Palace. I started with the 1-1-1 soups: Turtle (although they are famous for it, was not my favorite) a gumbo of the day (Chicken and sausage) and a delectable Butternut squash soup with Lum crab meat in it..(My favorite by far) It was velvetly and rich and everything you would think a comfort food would be. Then had their shrimp and grits. YUM and finished it up with the bread pudding souffle. Other than needing a wheel barrow to get out of there I have no complaints.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went to Commander's Palace for brunch since it's a little less pricey than dinner. It was a beautiful day so we decided to sit outside. Service was excellent, Jazz band will play at your table and also take requests, and the food was delicious. I decided to go with the strawberry short cake for desert, which was perhaps the best I've ever had. It is expensive, but worth every penny!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice lunch at Commander's Palace in November. While it was very good, it was probably not quite as fabulous as I remembered from dining here a number of years ago. I love the historic building with the unique paint color. There are a number of different dining rooms, and I was a bit disappointed to pass through the beautiful downstairs dining room to the slightly less special room upstairs (not the Garden Room, which is lovely). My shrimp and grits were excellent, and the bread pudding soufflé was great. My wife's soup was lukewarm. Service was good, but not special. A very nice experience, and I would return, but it did not feel as special as our lunch at Bayona a few days later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.