We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Old New Orleans Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
504 899-8221
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 1,579 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Ocean Springs,MS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Elegant Old New Orleans Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The lunch a friend of mine and I had recently had Commander's Palace is one of the most memorable and delightful meals I have ever experienced. We arrived 30 minutes after our reservation time (we tried to call and explain but never got through)...and we were warmly welcomed and whisked right to our table. We were escorted by a friendly young man, through the kitchen, where all staff smiled and spoke, to a small dining room that overlooked the courtyard. Our waiter addressed me by my name, seated us and placed our napkins in our laps and proceeded to bring our water and garlic bread. I chose the Commander's martini...(they have several martinis at lunch that are 25 cents each...YES 25 cents) and it was a beautiful blue and quite delicious. I chose a 2 course lunch option, and had the Cochon de lait over crawfish boudin with pickled vegetables accompanied by a Commanders house salad. The salad was large and filled with bacon, cheese, croutons and a light dressing. Very satisfying. The entree was spicy and the pickled veggies with the pork was perfect. (16.00)
My friend had a 3 course entree...which included gumbo, quail, and bread pudding souffle.
(32.00). (All delicious!) I tasted the bread pudding souffle and it was perfect...The atmosphere was quiet, elegant and relaxing. The staff was courteous and pleasant and friendly. I felt very pampered and enjoyed a very delicious and well presented meal in a beautiful old New Orleans setting..... I look forward to returning to this fabulous restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    1,879
    416
    178
    74
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Always the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's hard to write what has not already been said but I cannot think of many other restaurants that have such consistently excellent service and food. The restaurant is very fairly priced and every meal I have had there is memorable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our tour guide arranged for a group lunch after a garden district tour and it was an amazing experience. We had a sampling of many different dishes that included their turtle soup and bread pudding. Our guide and the Commander Palace staff treated us incredibly well and it was truly one of our trip highlights

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam F, Manager at Commander's Palace, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We're so happy you enjoyed your trip to Commander's Palace. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Just as splendid as my memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

One of several restaurants I wouldn't miss on a visit to New Orleans. Favourite dishes this time - the shrimp and tasso starter, the justly famed turtle soup, the pecan crusted gulf fish. We couldn't resist the bread pudding and were glad we didn't. Our friend declared the Commander's was as fine as anywhere he'd dined in Paris.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okla.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch after the Garden Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the perfect lunch after the Garden Dist Tour which was fun also. This place made the tour, the food and service was exceptional. The waiter explained all the dishes and cocktails. Food was wonderful and staff was absolutely perfect. They even serve from the left and don’t reach over without permission. Not sure of the cost because it was rolled up into the tour price. Best Watermelon Martini in the world. Best bread pudding soufflé.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.