We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as splendid as my memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
+1 504-899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,585 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Just as splendid as my memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

One of several restaurants I wouldn't miss on a visit to New Orleans. Favourite dishes this time - the shrimp and tasso starter, the justly famed turtle soup, the pecan crusted gulf fish. We couldn't resist the bread pudding and were glad we didn't. Our friend declared the Commander's was as fine as anywhere he'd dined in Paris.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Okla.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch after the Garden Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the perfect lunch after the Garden Dist Tour which was fun also. This place made the tour, the food and service was exceptional. The waiter explained all the dishes and cocktails. Food was wonderful and staff was absolutely perfect. They even serve from the left and don’t reach over without permission. Not sure of the cost because it was rolled up into the tour price. Best Watermelon Martini in the world. Best bread pudding soufflé.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Warmdesertrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not a Tourist Trap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited for Sunday Brunch. I was expecting a tourist trap and could not be more wrong. The service was over the top excellent. Presentation and fantastic and everything tasted as good as it looked. There were a lot of regulars dining when we visited. I Will return for lunch and dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaoulAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the first time back since Katrina and I understand the restaurant was torn down to the stubs then rebuilt and may I say they did a wonderful job.
We had a party of ten [we were seated in the main dinning room downstairs] which can cause difficulties however the service was wonderful, no make that excellent. Our cocktail /wine glass were never empty unless you wanted it that way and the ten courses arrived together, hot and delicious as always. Those that had room for dessert, coffee and after dinner drinks found the service just as efficient as the main course.
We weren't rushed and made to feel welcome for the entire four hours we were there and not once did we feel neglected, if fact our waiters/waitress's [had afew assigned too our table] seemed trained in photography. PLEASE NOTE THE CHANDELIERS and the birds.
This is not your cheapest restaurant [ my bill for three people $283.00 with tax and tip] but in my opinion worth every cent and you can rely on this place time after time.
Oh if your staying around the French Quarter a tax fare one way will cost you around $25.00 with tip however there are lots of places to park around there. Oh by the way make reservations early [we booked three months in advanced and got one of the last tables] so your not disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank princer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balt, MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bit pricey and stuffy but the food was excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had dinner here with my wife on my birthday and was satisfied with everything. The wine list is excellent and the waiters are extremely helpful with the menu and drink/wine list. I really enjoyed the turtle soup, and my fish dish. Both were really tasty. Dress code was a little too much since I normally don't pack dress clothes for a vacation someplace that is normally hot and humid, especially when I'm flying. The place was a little snobby for me personally but what it all comes down to is the food and service, which both were excellent. A bit pricey but I would recommend dining here for special occasions and not really a place to bring the kids unless you want a $600 bill.. They did bring out a ridiculous chef hat for me to wear for our desert which was playful and fun. I would go again next time I'm in NOLA.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank baltscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing