We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic NOLA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
504 899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Classic NOLA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I wanted to ding them for getting snarky when I asked to move, after they sat us 3 feet from the restrooms in the parlor room. However, the food speaks for itself and it was delicious. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings and it could not have been better. Everything we had was heaven, including the strawberry shortcake (a must!). Our server, food, and wine were impeccable. I will definitely be back! Rumor has it they offer, .25 cent martinis during lunch and a Sunday jazz brunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    2,052
    451
    199
    77
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Memorable Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant was the highlight of my trip. Four of us enjoyed Sunday brunch in a sunny upstairs room surrounded by tall trees. We thoroughly enjoyed the jazz band and excellent food and service. Since we found it impossible to choose from among the soups, the waiter offered to bring us the three-soup sampler. The pecan crusted fish with Ponchatrain sauce was exactly as I remembered it from years ago, and the bread pudding souffle--wonderful! Wouldn't have changed a thing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We've travelled extensively but agree that Commander's Palace is by far our favorite restaurant amongst all the places we've visited. We make sure to come here every time we are in New Orleans. Brunch is a fun and delicious experience..don't miss it. Also, the creole cheesecake is excellent!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Martinis for a quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Commander's Palace offers 4 kinds of martinis for a quarter at lunch. It appeared that many of those present in this huge restaurant had several based on the laughter and fun folks were having. It also offers price fixes for two items and three items, plus alacarte. We did one three item price fix and a two item price fix. We shared the turtle soup, which was excellent. My wife had the crusted drum fish and I had the short ribs. They were both fantastic! We had a strawberry shortcake like dessert, which was also excellent. We took the trolley out to the Garden District where the restaurant is located, and walked around this beautiful neighborhood afterwards. The whole experience was a wonderful diversion from the French Quarter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The best of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A trip to commanders Palace is NOLA at its finest. Impeccable ,friendly service. Great dining,especially upstairs and magnificent choices. I was particularly impressed that it was so unlike a tourist type dining experience. Filet mignon and their special salmon entree was the best ever. Without a doubt on of the very best dining experiences I have had across the states!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.