We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditionally glorious...Commander's Palace.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
504 899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,602 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Traditionally glorious...Commander's Palace.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Graciousness defines the experience at this palace of sensual delights. From the warmth of the initial greeting to the unobtrusive attentiveness of the wait-staff, one really is treated as a valued guest. The rich panoply of high-end New Orleans cuisine leaves a person with some impossible to resolve dilemmas; the solution is straight-forward: chose several ! Intensely complex turtle soup reveals layer upon layer of flavors set off by the added sherry accents. Commander's roumalarde graces glistening fresh gulf shrimp. A Bloody Mary arrives at the table without vodka; almost immediately a server arrives with a bottle of vodka frozen in a block of ice, from which he adds the icy vodka to the drink....mmmm. Main dishes vary almost daily and are often sourced from current seasonal sources. I just don't have enough adjectives for the dessert selections...and the strolling musical combos who take requests from the diners, or play New Orleans classics. This is not simply a fine restaurant, it is an enriching life experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    2,052
    451
    198
    77
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, great for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Delicious, great service, and reasonably priced. What? Did I say reasonably priced? Yes. Monday through Friday lunch at Commanders Palace is reasonably priced. A two course lunch plus two Martinis...$16.50. Martinis are $0.25 each. That's a quarter per martini, up to 3 per person.
The menu is diverse, the waitstaff is friendly and courteous and perhaps most importantly, the food is really delicious. Your opportunity to enjoy one of Americas top 25 restaurants at a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had dinner here a few nights ago with friends. All four of us were extremely pleased with the service, and especially with the food. Certainly one of the best restaurant meals I have ever had. Should I get back to NOLA, I'll return here, without a doubt.

Our waiter was a kick....funny, but very professional at the same time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classic dining in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Commanders exemplifies New Orleans dining. Service was impeccable. The pork belly appetizer is phenomenal. It is rich slow roasted thick bacon that melts in your mouth. Pecan encrusted fish is delicious. Bread pudding soufflé is a must, even if you are not a dessert fan. Our table overlooked the garden and it was lovely. Wine list is extensive. Our favorite restaurant in the U.S.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We finally made it to Commanders Palace after many trips to New Orleans, so I am familiar with the cuisine. Every dish was extremely well made and presented, with intense flavors wherever possible. Pricy, but worth it. There are 25 cent martinis for lunch, and they are not watered down. Limit 3. My wife had the gumbo, I had turtle soup. The roux in the gumbo was very nutty without any burnt character. The turtle soup had a tang from the sherry they pour in right as it is served. The braised short ribs, very tender, very well browned. The bread pudding souffle was very light, almost like a meringue with bits of bread pudding throughout.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.