We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
504 899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,612 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a wonderful evening at Commander's Palace. The soup du jour was a shrimp chirizo bisque, and I think it was the best soup I've ever had. I didn't know soup could melt in your mouth. The service was very personalized. Food was very good. Overall, a very special evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,375
    537
    242
    94
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Jazz brunch enjoyed by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Six family members went to the Jazz Brunch, enjoyed great drinks, very attentive service, wonderful entrees and my husband said it was the best strawberry shortcake he's ever eaten. The music was fabulous, the atmosphere is just about perfect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“still excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

well established resturant and still greeat. Went there with my wife. all the dishes we had were excellent. Waiter made a wine recommendation that was a good choice and fairly priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We a wonderful had lunch here. The food was absolutely fantastic. The citrus salad was the best salad I have ever had in my life. Our server, Todd, was delightful and clearly enthusiastic about food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolis, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ate lunch here while on a self-guided walking tour of the beautiful garden district. We were given a jingle bell to wear around our necks for the holidays. They also had Christmas carolers as well to serenade us while we ate lunch. I had shrimp and grits which were wonderful. I hesitantly tried the turle soup and was pleasantly surprised as it was really good. The service was top notch and we were guided through their kitchen as we were taken to our table. I tried some of my husband's bread pudding souffle with whiskey sauce and I highly recommend it. If you order an entree for lunch, you are able to order up to three martinis for 25 cents each. They had several to choose from. This was quite an experience.
The only drawback was that it was really noisy in the dining room and I had a difficult time carrying on a conversation. This was due to the fact that there were several large tables with many of the guests talking rather loudly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.