We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
504 899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,612 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Metropolis, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ate lunch here while on a self-guided walking tour of the beautiful garden district. We were given a jingle bell to wear around our necks for the holidays. They also had Christmas carolers as well to serenade us while we ate lunch. I had shrimp and grits which were wonderful. I hesitantly tried the turle soup and was pleasantly surprised as it was really good. The service was top notch and we were guided through their kitchen as we were taken to our table. I tried some of my husband's bread pudding souffle with whiskey sauce and I highly recommend it. If you order an entree for lunch, you are able to order up to three martinis for 25 cents each. They had several to choose from. This was quite an experience.
The only drawback was that it was really noisy in the dining room and I had a difficult time carrying on a conversation. This was due to the fact that there were several large tables with many of the guests talking rather loudly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,184
    485
    212
    81
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san clemente, CA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Undisputed champion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Eating here takes you back to an earlier era, when going out to dinner was special. I really like the formal dress and amazing service. You should eat here at least once in your travels to NOLA.
Warmly greeted on arrival. This time we were escorted to our table thru a working kitchen. Everyone stops briefly to greet you. So fun to see the activity of the kitchen .
Extensive wine list, which is very reasonably priced surprisingly.
Food is outstanding as is the service. This time had the turtle soup, which they're known for. It was excellent. Our party had the " whole hog" dish which featured several sections of the pig. Cooked perfectly. Also the redfish which was well prepared. Strawberry shortcake was a nice finishing touch.
I had purchased their cookbook previously. It is my favorite. Recipes are easy to follow and dishes come out great. This place is the total package.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Do you come here for the best and most cutting edge cuisine in the city? No. You come here for an old school dining experience. You make a reservation, you dress nicely, you set aside a couple of hours of your day to dine at leisure, and then you arrive and simply enjoy dining the way civilized people used to. Start with a cocktail or two as you enjoy the atmosphere and the company of friends, peruse the menu and wine list and employ the well informed staff to offer suggestions, and then just sit back and enjoy a very fine meal, with professional service in a lovely atmosphere.

Last time we went, we did a walking tour of the Garden District to work up our appetite and then had a wonderful lunch with friends in the courtyard. It’s hard to beat the 25 cent martini’s at lunch, the food is good but not great, and the service was as near perfect as I have ever experienced. One of the biggest pluses to dining at Commanders is the people watching, as you get to see an interesting mix of locals and tourists, and the locals always impress me with their dress and manners, and truly do understand that the meal as the event.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“terrific food awesome atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

we went to the sat am jazz brunch the food was some of the best we have ever had !! we started off with the peAch bellini which are great the gumbo was great and the quail and the pancakes were terrific the jazz trio comes around every 45 min or so and they are great the service was outstanding a must if you are in NOLA !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had Jazz Brunch at Commanders Palace. What a wonderful meal, particularly after having a disappointing meal at Emeril's the night before. Had the gumbo, shrimp bisque, turtle soup, shrimp and grits, blue crab frittata, strawberry shortcake and bread pudding soufflé. Everything was exceptional. The staff was warm, welcoming and friendly. The pace of the meal was prompt but not rushed. Took a LONG walk back to the French Quarter afterwards to work off all of that food, but it sure was worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.