We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undisputed champion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
+1 504-899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Garden District
san clemente, CA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Undisputed champion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Eating here takes you back to an earlier era, when going out to dinner was special. I really like the formal dress and amazing service. You should eat here at least once in your travels to NOLA.
Warmly greeted on arrival. This time we were escorted to our table thru a working kitchen. Everyone stops briefly to greet you. So fun to see the activity of the kitchen .
Extensive wine list, which is very reasonably priced surprisingly.
Food is outstanding as is the service. This time had the turtle soup, which they're known for. It was excellent. Our party had the " whole hog" dish which featured several sections of the pig. Cooked perfectly. Also the redfish which was well prepared. Strawberry shortcake was a nice finishing touch.
I had purchased their cookbook previously. It is my favorite. Recipes are easy to follow and dishes come out great. This place is the total package.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,851
    642
    309
    111
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Do you come here for the best and most cutting edge cuisine in the city? No. You come here for an old school dining experience. You make a reservation, you dress nicely, you set aside a couple of hours of your day to dine at leisure, and then you arrive and simply enjoy dining the way civilized people used to. Start with a cocktail or two as you enjoy the atmosphere and the company of friends, peruse the menu and wine list and employ the well informed staff to offer suggestions, and then just sit back and enjoy a very fine meal, with professional service in a lovely atmosphere.

Last time we went, we did a walking tour of the Garden District to work up our appetite and then had a wonderful lunch with friends in the courtyard. It’s hard to beat the 25 cent martini’s at lunch, the food is good but not great, and the service was as near perfect as I have ever experienced. One of the biggest pluses to dining at Commanders is the people watching, as you get to see an interesting mix of locals and tourists, and the locals always impress me with their dress and manners, and truly do understand that the meal as the event.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“terrific food awesome atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

we went to the sat am jazz brunch the food was some of the best we have ever had !! we started off with the peAch bellini which are great the gumbo was great and the quail and the pancakes were terrific the jazz trio comes around every 45 min or so and they are great the service was outstanding a must if you are in NOLA !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had Jazz Brunch at Commanders Palace. What a wonderful meal, particularly after having a disappointing meal at Emeril's the night before. Had the gumbo, shrimp bisque, turtle soup, shrimp and grits, blue crab frittata, strawberry shortcake and bread pudding soufflé. Everything was exceptional. The staff was warm, welcoming and friendly. The pace of the meal was prompt but not rushed. Took a LONG walk back to the French Quarter afterwards to work off all of that food, but it sure was worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, Louisiana
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“This place lives up to its excellent reputation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We enoyed dinner 12/222/12 in the upstairs garden room with nice biews of the lush courtyard. The quail was our favorite with the ribeye a vlose second. The lemony , citrus topped trout was tasty, but a very small portion was served.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.