We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
504 899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,613 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“memorable dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We made reservations about 5 months in advance, I felt a little foolish calling that far in advance, but when I called, I was told that they did not have the time slot that I wanted, so I was glad to call that early! I let them know that we would be celebrating our wedding anniversary that night. When we arrived in November, we were greeted with, "so glad that you are celebrating your anniversary with us". Well, this was a wonderful start. We were led upstairs and at each turn where the staff was standing we were greeted with 'hello' or a lovely smile. We had a lovely table by the window and our waitstaff were all fabulous. We started with oysters in puffed pastry. The dish was delicious. I had the turtle soup which was so good and my husband had gumbo made with a veal stock, the flavors were so rich in his gumbo. Our entrees were scallops and my husband had pecan crusted redfish. Both were great. My scallops were cooked to perfection. My husband has a habit of ordering as much as he possibly can at certain restaurants so that we get a good taste of a variety of dishes and Commander's Palace was one of those places. So, he also ordered a side dish of poached crab meat poached in limoncello. I am so glad I could not talk him out of it! This was one of the most decadent, luxourious dishes I have ever had. It was so rich and wonderful, we could not even finish this. We had their signature bread pudding for dessert. I had an Adelaide's swizzle to drink and my husband had Sazerac's. This was a memorable event because the staff makes you feel so special. I can't wait to come back to New Orleans and eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,168
    482
    210
    81
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Land of corn and pigs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As good as it was 20 years ago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

At least 20 years ago I visited New Orleans and ate at the Commander"s Palace, it was awesome then and it is just as awesome today. The food was incredible and the service was also incredible. Part of the beauty of this restaurant is that it isn't in the French Quarter, but in the Garden District, a gorgeous setting to have a fabulous meal. I believe this is a must stop if you are visiting New Orleans.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Brunch there is an event. The Jazz band really adds to the experience. They are friendly and make it a lot of fun. The "bacon and egg" appetizer is really nice, much better than it sounds. The shrimp and grits was very spicy - too intense for me. The bread pudding is very rich and very sweet. With the street car down because of construction it is very hard to get there from the French Quarter. The bus is really unpleasant so take a cab.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch involves a meal and live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Made reservations 2 months in advance. Upon entering the restaurant, it can be intimidating as your hostess and wait staff all greet you. Please dress according to dress code or you can be refused. We received a tour of the restaurant. The seafood cakes were excellent as well as the cinnamon and apple pinwheel and pecan pie. The turduckian tasted fabulous. A 3 piece jazz band tours the restaurant and plays songs at your request once they arrive at your table. Even the Birthday boy received special recognition from the restaurant and band! John Goodman lives 3 blocks from restaurant and owns a key to the back door. Time frame: Our reservations for 6 began at 10:30am and we left the restaurant at 1:00pm. Good choice!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“At the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had lunch at Commander's Palace while in NO for a conference. Actually a pretty good deal, $22 for a bowl of gumbo and shrimp (LARGE) with grits. Superb service. Everything was excellent. And 25 cent martinis at lunch that I did not partake of as I had business after lunch :-(

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.