We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it was 20 years ago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
+1 504-899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,548 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Land of corn and pigs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As good as it was 20 years ago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

At least 20 years ago I visited New Orleans and ate at the Commander"s Palace, it was awesome then and it is just as awesome today. The food was incredible and the service was also incredible. Part of the beauty of this restaurant is that it isn't in the French Quarter, but in the Garden District, a gorgeous setting to have a fabulous meal. I believe this is a must stop if you are visiting New Orleans.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,192
    704
    348
    120
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Brunch there is an event. The Jazz band really adds to the experience. They are friendly and make it a lot of fun. The "bacon and egg" appetizer is really nice, much better than it sounds. The shrimp and grits was very spicy - too intense for me. The bread pudding is very rich and very sweet. With the street car down because of construction it is very hard to get there from the French Quarter. The bus is really unpleasant so take a cab.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch involves a meal and live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Made reservations 2 months in advance. Upon entering the restaurant, it can be intimidating as your hostess and wait staff all greet you. Please dress according to dress code or you can be refused. We received a tour of the restaurant. The seafood cakes were excellent as well as the cinnamon and apple pinwheel and pecan pie. The turduckian tasted fabulous. A 3 piece jazz band tours the restaurant and plays songs at your request once they arrive at your table. Even the Birthday boy received special recognition from the restaurant and band! John Goodman lives 3 blocks from restaurant and owns a key to the back door. Time frame: Our reservations for 6 began at 10:30am and we left the restaurant at 1:00pm. Good choice!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“At the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had lunch at Commander's Palace while in NO for a conference. Actually a pretty good deal, $22 for a bowl of gumbo and shrimp (LARGE) with grits. Superb service. Everything was excellent. And 25 cent martinis at lunch that I did not partake of as I had business after lunch :-(

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth it to get there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have to take a cab or the train out of city to get there but worth it. Make reservations and men should bring a jacket. Sad to say that like much of the tradition in our society, even Comm Palace seemed to be relaxing their dress code. We didn't go last time in town bc we didn't all have jackets. This time we planned/packed for only to see a number of tourists that were helping to suck out the intended style.

Maze of rooms in a rambling old house. We were led thru the kitchen to our wing. Bit of an 80's or 90's slightly dated feel...may have been when they did their last reno but still nice. We did not get the room on the website which looks very nice. Our table was in a hallway wrapping around a glassed courtyard. Service was attentive and very good.

Turtle soup was fine. Forget what I had as an app and looking at the menu on line I am not reminded. But the slow cooked shank was excellent. The bread pudding souffle was not worth special ordering at the beginning of the meal. Soupy and wet. Not a solid, textural dessert.

But all said, still worth the trip. And bring the jackets and don't be the goofs in the cruise wear sporting their blue tooths thru the meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.