We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Cajun Food - Solid Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
+1 504-899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,660 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good Cajun Food - Solid Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had never eaten at this restaurant but read reviews and know about the family (owners). I was taking key customers so I did not want to make a mistake. The restaurant has a good location and very easy to get to from all hotels. The food was very good but I must say not "wow"! However it was a very solid choice and did not disappoint. Everyone enjoyed the food and the service was good. The prices are fine for this type of restaurant in New Orleans.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,752
    619
    287
    108
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We dined at Commanders on 11/17 for our Anniversary Brunch. It was top notch from start to finish. From the moment we walked in - we felt like they has just opened that day for us. Everyone greeting us with "Happy Anniversary" and saying congratulations. Very nice. The three team service was incredible. We got "fresh ice" several times - haha. Loved that. The food was perfection. Bread pudding capped a perfect meal. It had been a while since I had been and it was my husband's first time. We ate, smiled and clapped for 2 hours. It was a great experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Commander's Palace - Old World Elegance in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Commander's Palace. Everyone said "it's a must". "Home of the Banana's Foster". We" had to go"...
So we did and had yet another fabulous meal in New Orleans.
While looking over their very extensive and well thought out wine list or should I say "book of wines", we made our selection.
Being that we were still a little full from lunch we opted to share their Autumn Pumpkin Salad (It could have been my dinner it was so delicious). I enjoyed the Pecan Crusted Gulf Fish with Prosecco Poached Louisiana Gulf Crab (finished every mouth- watering bite) and tried my daughters' Candy Apple Lacquered Quail (I was so happy she ordered this as I was very curious) equally outstanding!
I appreciated that our server(s) were both very attentive and let us relax and slowly enjoy our meals. We ended our lovely dinner with a bang as our server flambeed their famous Bananas Foster at our table. We licked our bowls clean, they called for a taxi and we called it another memorable night in New Orleans.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wow! Service extraordinaire.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment you enter, you will be treated like you dine there daily. Everyone remembers your name, pays attention to each and every detail of your dining experience. The food is fabulous. Enjoyed two meals there in our 4 days in New Orleans, a delightful birthday dinner and scrumptious Sunday Jazz brunch. Have fun!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best Food Every Time - Also Perfect for Lunch after Lafayette Cemetery Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Except for our homemade Smoked Duck Gumbo this place has the very best Gumbo I have ever had.
I have been here at least once for every trip to New Orleans. Why not?
The lunch option is best value.
We combined it with 10:30am Lafayette Cemetery Tour (by Save Our Cemetery).
I love their 75cent martinis.

Always choose the Turtle Soup (see photo).
Everything else is optional.
We like walk through the kitchen to the bar and courtyard area (come early and have a drink in the beautiful garden.

I certify that I have no personal or business relationship with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review - BUT Chef Tory McPhail is probably a distant cousin.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.