We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commander's Palace - Old World Elegance in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
504 899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,602 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Commander's Palace - Old World Elegance in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Commander's Palace. Everyone said "it's a must". "Home of the Banana's Foster". We" had to go"...
So we did and had yet another fabulous meal in New Orleans.
While looking over their very extensive and well thought out wine list or should I say "book of wines", we made our selection.
Being that we were still a little full from lunch we opted to share their Autumn Pumpkin Salad (It could have been my dinner it was so delicious). I enjoyed the Pecan Crusted Gulf Fish with Prosecco Poached Louisiana Gulf Crab (finished every mouth- watering bite) and tried my daughters' Candy Apple Lacquered Quail (I was so happy she ordered this as I was very curious) equally outstanding!
I appreciated that our server(s) were both very attentive and let us relax and slowly enjoy our meals. We ended our lovely dinner with a bang as our server flambeed their famous Bananas Foster at our table. We licked our bowls clean, they called for a taxi and we called it another memorable night in New Orleans.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    2,052
    451
    198
    77
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wow! Service extraordinaire.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment you enter, you will be treated like you dine there daily. Everyone remembers your name, pays attention to each and every detail of your dining experience. The food is fabulous. Enjoyed two meals there in our 4 days in New Orleans, a delightful birthday dinner and scrumptious Sunday Jazz brunch. Have fun!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Food Every Time - Also Perfect for Lunch after Lafayette Cemetery Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Except for our homemade Smoked Duck Gumbo this place has the very best Gumbo I have ever had.
I have been here at least once for every trip to New Orleans. Why not?
The lunch option is best value.
We combined it with 10:30am Lafayette Cemetery Tour (by Save Our Cemetery).
I love their 75cent martinis.

Always choose the Turtle Soup (see photo).
Everything else is optional.
We like walk through the kitchen to the bar and courtyard area (come early and have a drink in the beautiful garden.

I certify that I have no personal or business relationship with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review - BUT Chef Tory McPhail is probably a distant cousin.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

we recently spent a week in New Orleans. We booked several fine restaurants for luch rather than dinner--many menu items the same, and we get to try more of them for the money. When we arrived, hostess addressed us by both first and last name, led us through the kitchen to our table ( a treat for my chef husband) Glad we were seated in the glassed atrium room--front dining room seemed crowded and loud. Service throughout our four course decadent lunch was impeccable--friendly yet supremely professional.

The turtle soup takes three days to make and you can taste it--such depth of flavor in all of the dishes. My drum (local fish) was nothing short of amazing--succulent, perfectly done and with excellent acompaniments. Do pre-order one of their fabulous desserts (bread pudding souffle with whiskey sauce was superb). Only thing keeping me from a full-on 5-star review was my husband's duck confit was dried out--it's cured in duck fat--how can a confit come out dry? All in all, a highlight of our trip and well worth the money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Best..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a throw back in time for my visit. Ten years have past and and pretty ladies have come and gone in my life. It was great to see this grand Cammander has kept it's opulence. Impressive with its quality and service. The Garden District with all the wonderfull homes. Your sences fill with wonderment of a time gone by. History WOW. This is fine dining and worth a evening of enjoyment for two. Make this PALACE a must see,feel and touch to your heart.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commander's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.