We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irene's Cuisine

Irene's Cuisine
539 Saint Philip St, The French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3322 (French Quarter)
504-529-8811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere and the food was delicious. The staff were very friendly and attentive.
Good selection of wine and not overly priced.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    203
    59
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Classic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A limited menu and tight space for a large group but a wonderful arrage of tastes and smells. The complimentary bread with tomatoe is a terrific way to start the meal. The ceasar was fresh with a light flavor that didn't overwhelm. I got an 'off menu' eggplant parm and it was the best eggplant parm I have ever had (and I have had my share). It had the right amount of sauce and cheese and I didn't experience one seed. Most eggplant parm is seedy and mushy - this was amazing. The service was top-notch - professional, efficient, helpful and friendly. We finished the meal with a pecan bread pudding which was almost too much to handle with it's rich, warm flavors. Had a bite of the creole cheesecake and that was equally delicious. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NOLA Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a great cozy spot nestled in the French Quarter not too far from Decatur street. This is classic NEW ORLEANS Italian with many of the classic dishes infused with Louisiana seafood and love. When you first go in they typically make you have an obligatory drink in the back room but that's ok because a friendly staff will get you that deserved drink right before your seating. I recommend a reservation and lots of things on the menu.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

After hearing much about Irene's Cuisine, we finally tried it on our recent trip to NOLA. Our hotel was very nearby, and as we walked over, we could smell the aroma of garlic wafting down the street. At that time I decided however long the wait would be I would be willing to endure it. We got there on;y a half hour after they opened and waited about 1 1/4 hours for our table. It was the first night of our trip and I was craving some New Orleans seafood. We were served an amuse bouche of a beautifully flavored tomato positioned bruschetta-style on a small piece of bread. We started with roasted asparagus w/ prosciutto, tasty, but unremarkable, My husband had the lamb. The presentation was beatiful, and the taste was outstanding. I had drum topped with lump crabmeat, perfectly cooked and delicious. Others at the table had the ribeye and the the duck. The duck eater said it was the best duck he ever ate. The wait staff was very friendly and efficient. Overall it was a great experience and I can now tick it off my list of must go to places in NOLA> I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Garlic heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Tucked away on St. Phillip street stands a quiet beige building that around 4pm begins to emit a wonderful aroma of garlic. Irene's menu of Sicilian favorites mixed with New Orleans fare will tempt you, the satisfy that temptation. Try it all! Could be a wait but well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irene's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Irene's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irene's Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.