We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely lives up to the hype!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irene's Cuisine

Irene's Cuisine
539 Saint Philip St, The French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3322 (French Quarter)
504-529-8811
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Definitely lives up to the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We came here after it was recommended by a friend, and boy was it worth the visit! Everything we tried was delicious, but the escargot was a highlight for me - possibly the best escargot I've ever had. Irene's also has a nice, romantic atmosphere. We didn't have a reservation, but did manage to get a seat, though we did have to wait for a while (which we expected on a Friday night with no reservation). Luckily you can wait in the lounge, where there was a pianist, some nice romantic lighting, and drinks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    230
    69
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overbrook, Kansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Called to make reservations but none available - still servers made extra effort to accommodate our family. We enjoyed the meal. Atmosphere was lovely but tight. Oysters Irene stood up to the great recommendation I'd been given.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New Orleans Trip 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was our last night in New Orleans, had a reservation, did not know it was the Feast of St Joseph, so they had a few specials, the special appetizer combo was excellent! The seafood feast was great but a little pricey could have been a better presentation. Our waiter was horrible, it was loud! The waiter took the drink order brought my drink and brought the white wine to the others ten minutes later and forgot the red wine for our one gal completely. The food did not come to the table at the same time, I was done with my appetizer before the order of mussels, as an appetizer came to the other girls. There was no personality for that waiter and because we had a party of 6 - 20% gratuity was added to our bill. He never asked if we wanted more wine or dessert, horrible experience, there are a lot of better places to eat at in NOLA!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“classic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Irenes is an iconic destination in Nola. The waitstaff works together like a fine oiled machine. All the food we tried was delicious. Loved it....worth a visit next time we go to NOLA.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The one certainty when we visit New Orleans is that Irene's is on the list of places to dine at least once, if not twice .
The menu is broad and wonderful, but they always have some amazing specials. The duck is always outstanding and my wife is a duck nut. I had a special, which was a filet with an outstanding red wine and mushroom sauce, that would blow your socks off. Cooked perfectly, delicious.
The escargot appetizer is always wonderful and they had two special salads the evening we dined there. Both were wonderful.
The service is always attentive and impeccable.
Just love this place .

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irene's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Irene's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irene's Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.