We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Correct name is Irene's Cousine and it is on St Phllip, corner of Chartres” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irene's Cuisine

Irene's Cuisine
539 Saint Philip St, The French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3322 (French Quarter)
504-529-8811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Madtown
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Correct name is Irene's Cousine and it is on St Phllip, corner of Chartres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Rated more highly on this thread, and more correctly in my mind. See my review at Irene's Cuisine. Reservations highly recommended.

Can't Tripadvisor combine these???

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    203
    59
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madtown
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“French Quarter Gem: Tripadvisor does not list in French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

It's on St Peter, note that it has very few reviews because no one finds it online or can't get in if they do. Reservations recommended except on rainy nights I guess. Small,intimate, reminded me of small family owned Italian restaurants on Manhattan 30 years ago. Great service, everyone pitches in on each small, six table room. Low ceilngs, NOT corporate but "intimate". Excellent food, good wine list. Very good value on the quality/cost index.

Good seafood with one minor exception, the oysters were small (probably wild and I really don't know seafood) and consequently did not stand up to the cheese, cured meats treatment of "Oysters Irene". I tried them, only one of the six was fantastic, the others not noticeable in the concoction. BUT this is minor, my fault for eating oysters other than raw.

NO is pricey, Irene's is not that bad and certainly deserves a try if you like food, wine and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old, Italian New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Been several times. This is not high concept Italian, but old new Orleans Italian - dishes you know but done well, and often with a flourish like soft shell crab over pasta. It is a little more expensive than your local red sauce spot, but very reasonable given that it's in the quarter. While a little bit hidden away for the quarter, that's good for us as it probably attracts local, regulars, and cool tourist like you and me. During busy times, you are going to wait, even with a reservation, but the waiting room has cocktail tables and a piano player. It's got a very 1960's vibe, and I hope it never changes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Orleans Food-Eat and Walk Alot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

All of our meals in NOLA were incredible. I was amazed at the personal and warm service we received everywhere considering how busy the restaurants. Recommendations are Irene's, Dick and Jenny's, Brigtsen's and for the best donuts-The District. We really did need to walk alot so we could eat a lot!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, ill
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Memorable dining at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Made a reservation and got seated about 15 min. after. We sat in the holding area and had a wine while we waited for the table. What a wonderful dining experience we had. My husband had the crispy duck and I had the drum fish. Both dishes were outstanding. The duck was so meaty, flavorful and rich. My drum fish was cooked perfectly. The server (Nancy) was efficient, pleasant and helpful in her suggestions. Never once rushed us even though people were waiting for tables. The tables are close and every table is filled even late into the evening so the atmosphere is a bit noisy. Sort of reminded me of a European cafe with the decor. I would have loved to try the lamb chops, maybe another visit. I think you'd be hard pressed to find any negatives on this restaurant. High quality food and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irene's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Irene's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irene's Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.