We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irene's Cuisine

Irene's Cuisine
539 Saint Philip St, The French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3322 (French Quarter)
504-529-8811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had the best meal from drinks to dessert it starts when they open the door and greet you until the time they say thank you! food, service and atmosphere A++++++++ ! So awesome make a reservation or expect to wait a little but worth it completely

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    552
    169
    55
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brenham, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The Best Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Looking for great Italian in the French Quarter? This is the place. Located on a a quiet corner in the Northwest section of the French Quarter, this unobtrusive restaurant is known for its' Italian fare. Locals eat here. Don't always need a reservation, but I would suggest it. Excellent all around!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best ever italian food we've had in north america”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

the staff are so friendly and warm at this little cosy restaurant. every food dish was amazing...zuchini soup, irene's oysters, salad, mussels, seafood cioppino with pasta. best italian food ever!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Appalling customer service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I don't like giving negative reviews but I think this one is warranted. Whilst we were staying in New Orleans during early December, we'd planned and looked forward to dining at Irene's restaurant. We asked the concierge at our hotel, who also recommended Irene's, if he could reserve a table for 4. After contacting them he was informed that they were not taking reservations that evening but if we arrived around 6:30 there shouldn't be a problem.
We arrived at 6:20 and were told that it would be 7:30 before we could have a table. We agreed to wait as it was just over an hour and so we had some pre dinner drinks in the piano lounge. 7:30 came and went. No table! So did 8:00, 8:30 and 9:00. Every time we enquired they just said that we were next to be seated. At 9:20 we paid for our drinks and left in disgust.
Why on earth don't they keep you informed if they're experiencing problems instead of people having to keep asking!. We weren't the only customers to be treated in the same way that evening. Other people started leaving because of the prolonged waiting times. I cannot comment on the cuisine or food service as we didn't receive any. Three hours of our lives wasted whilst holidaying in such a great city. We were so disappointed after looking forward for so long to dining there, Please Irene's management, get your act together.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan, Utah
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The food is worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a typical 45 minute wait to eat, but the food (lamb is a must!) was worth it. This is a locals and well as out of town visitor spot, so be patient!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irene's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Irene's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irene's Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.