We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
808 Bienville St, The French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70112
+1 504-581-3467
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
GW Fins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,615 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $58
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (two time winner of "Chef of the Year" in New Orleans Magazine) ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and variety are two of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

GW Fins is a treasure! A delicious meal in an exciting environment. The bar was crowded but beverages were served quickly. Our table was ready after only a short wait and our waiter was excellent. The waiter's knowledge of the menu and description of his favorites made us all want to order everything. My oysters were sublime and the soft shell crab exceptional. The apple pie was the perfect ending to a wonderful meal. I felt the prices were reasonable for what was served. I HIGHLY recommend GW Fins and look forward to dinning there again.

Visited May 2013
Thank annesilver66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner & nice touches for our anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a great dinner here during Jazz Fest. We were celebrating our 15th anniversary which we mentioned when making our reservation and subsequently they had a custom menu printed with our names & happy anniversary on it, confetti on the table and they gave us a free dessert! We had the golden beet salad, Scallibut (halibut encrusted with scallops) with lobster & tomato risotto, sugar snap peas & pea shoot butter and the Wood Grilled Black Grouper in a Pineapple basil glaze, sweet potato hash, crispy plantains and roasted corn butter. Every bite was amazing! Jason, our waiter, was very knowledgeable and helped us select a great wine, Saldo by Orin Swift 2011. For dessert we went with apple pie w/cheddar crust and vanilla ice-cream - yum! We only wish that we tried the Smoked Sizzling Oysters! Overall a great experience - we will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank abigs_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food was good but probably won't be on my must return to list as there are so many other choices in New Orleans. The lobster dumplings were very good.

Visited May 2013
Thank patschicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“THE place for fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We headed here for Jazz Fest weekend (made reservations 4 weeks in advance). Our waiter gave us just the right amount of service- attentive but not hovering. We started w the special soft shell crab w brown butter and wood fired shrimp. The shrimp were good, the soft shell crab - so fresh and such a treat. The bread/biscuits are so ridiculously good, I finally told our server that, despite anything I said, do NOT bring me anymore. For entrees, I got the drum w lump crabmeat and Meyer lemon sauce (delicious) my husband got the famed scalibut and couldn't say enought about it. We ordered the amazing sweet potatoes as a side dish- if you do this, i promise you wont need dessert. We ended our evening with specialty coffees. The menu is, as may be expected VERY fish centric- not so much traditional New Orleans. The dining area feels intimate and not our. Our service was spot on, efficient, but not hurried and the waiter was well informed about the menu and preparations.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really first class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Checked Trip Advisor and it was highly rated. What a great meal experience for my 95 year old father-in-law and I to have. I couldn't have asked for a nicer meal or service. Both were awesome ! We flew in just to see the WWII Museum and G W Fins capped it off.

Visited May 2013
Thank Bluelake8213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GW Fins also viewed


Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing