We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
808 Bienville St, The French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70112
+1 504-581-3467
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
GW Fins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,617 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness, variety and to the guest are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

GW Fins is a treasure! A delicious meal in an exciting environment. The bar was crowded but beverages were served quickly. Our table was ready after only a short wait and our waiter was excellent. The waiter's knowledge of the menu and description of his favorites made us all want to order everything. My oysters were sublime and the soft shell crab exceptional. The apple pie was the perfect ending to a wonderful meal. I felt the prices were reasonable for what was served. I HIGHLY recommend GW Fins and look forward to dinning there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,692
    412
    145
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner & nice touches for our anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a great dinner here during Jazz Fest. We were celebrating our 15th anniversary which we mentioned when making our reservation and subsequently they had a custom menu printed with our names & happy anniversary on it, confetti on the table and they gave us a free dessert! We had the golden beet salad, Scallibut (halibut encrusted with scallops) with lobster & tomato risotto, sugar snap peas & pea shoot butter and the Wood Grilled Black Grouper in a Pineapple basil glaze, sweet potato hash, crispy plantains and roasted corn butter. Every bite was amazing! Jason, our waiter, was very knowledgeable and helped us select a great wine, Saldo by Orin Swift 2011. For dessert we went with apple pie w/cheddar crust and vanilla ice-cream - yum! We only wish that we tried the Smoked Sizzling Oysters! Overall a great experience - we will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food was good but probably won't be on my must return to list as there are so many other choices in New Orleans. The lobster dumplings were very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“THE place for fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We headed here for Jazz Fest weekend (made reservations 4 weeks in advance). Our waiter gave us just the right amount of service- attentive but not hovering. We started w the special soft shell crab w brown butter and wood fired shrimp. The shrimp were good, the soft shell crab - so fresh and such a treat. The bread/biscuits are so ridiculously good, I finally told our server that, despite anything I said, do NOT bring me anymore. For entrees, I got the drum w lump crabmeat and Meyer lemon sauce (delicious) my husband got the famed scalibut and couldn't say enought about it. We ordered the amazing sweet potatoes as a side dish- if you do this, i promise you wont need dessert. We ended our evening with specialty coffees. The menu is, as may be expected VERY fish centric- not so much traditional New Orleans. The dining area feels intimate and not our. Our service was spot on, efficient, but not hurried and the waiter was well informed about the menu and preparations.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Really first class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Checked Trip Advisor and it was highly rated. What a great meal experience for my 95 year old father-in-law and I to have. I couldn't have asked for a nicer meal or service. Both were awesome ! We flew in just to see the WWII Museum and G W Fins capped it off.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GW Fins also viewed

 

Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GW Fins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.