We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
808 Bienville St, New Orleans, LA 70112
(504) 581-3467
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
GW Fins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,606 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness, variety and to the guest are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Chicago IL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food was good but probably won't be on my must return to list as there are so many other choices in New Orleans. The lobster dumplings were very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    1,388
    337
    126
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“THE place for fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We headed here for Jazz Fest weekend (made reservations 4 weeks in advance). Our waiter gave us just the right amount of service- attentive but not hovering. We started w the special soft shell crab w brown butter and wood fired shrimp. The shrimp were good, the soft shell crab - so fresh and such a treat. The bread/biscuits are so ridiculously good, I finally told our server that, despite anything I said, do NOT bring me anymore. For entrees, I got the drum w lump crabmeat and Meyer lemon sauce (delicious) my husband got the famed scalibut and couldn't say enought about it. We ordered the amazing sweet potatoes as a side dish- if you do this, i promise you wont need dessert. We ended our evening with specialty coffees. The menu is, as may be expected VERY fish centric- not so much traditional New Orleans. The dining area feels intimate and not our. Our service was spot on, efficient, but not hurried and the waiter was well informed about the menu and preparations.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Really first class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Checked Trip Advisor and it was highly rated. What a great meal experience for my 95 year old father-in-law and I to have. I couldn't have asked for a nicer meal or service. Both were awesome ! We flew in just to see the WWII Museum and G W Fins capped it off.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food here is just so so so good! This is a must visit in New Orleans. I'm not even a fish person, but everything they make us just absolutely delicious. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New Found Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After finding GW Fins on Trip Advisor, my husband and I decided to check it out--we were not disappointed. Our waiter Ricardo was very well informed regarding both the liquor and food menus. The entire waitstaff did an outstanding job. The timing between courses was perfect. We both enjoyed the French 75 Martini that began our dining experience. From our WG Shrimp appetizer to the creme brulee for dessert, everything tasted great. The spinach salad and Scalibut were our salad and main entree choices. The decor was a delight to the eye and the restaurant's set up was unique. We will definitely go back on our next visit to the French Quarter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GW Fins also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA

Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GW Fins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;