We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, great, great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
808 Bienville St, New Orleans, LA 70112
+1 504-581-3467
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
GW Fins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,612 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness, variety and to the guest are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great, great, great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went for dinner our last night in New Orleans What a meal. Professional, great food that looked and tasted terrific. We had a 3 hour meal with wine and dessert and never felt pushed by the staff. The staff was informative and would talk about preparation fluently. The smoked oysters were the best ever! The grouper was a huge piece of fish, well seasoned but not over spiced. Save room for the bread pudding, it it worth the calorie hit. I love port and they had a 1975 that was amazing and a big pour. Great place don't miss going here if you are in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,481
    360
    127
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Saturday night at GW Fins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I ate here in March 2013. We had a 9pm reservation and we were seated promptly. We started with the lobster ravioli which was light & tasty, although very small. Mom had the scalibut & I had the swordfish. Swordfish was flavorful, but a bit over cooked. Scalibut was excellent! Service was on point, but faltered a bit at the end with clearing away dirty glasses/plates before dessert. Was pricey, about $150 for the two of us - including 3 glasses of wine. With so many restaurants in the quarter, may not visit again soon, but was a very enjoyable meal.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Menu changes daily, reflecting what is local and fresh. Service is enthusiastic, which is particularly impressive for a tourist town. Best place for Louisiana sea food. If available, go for the tempura red fish- bones and all.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish in an elegant setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As others have said, even though this is just off Bourbon Street, you'd never know it once the front doors close behind you, and you enter the elegant dining room. Overall the service was good, but we were getting a bit thirsty by the time our water glasses were filled, almost 10 minutes after we were seated. This was definitely very fresh fish, and was expertly prepared with sauces that complemented the courses beautifully. The "Scalibut" - their house specialty - was a delicious pairing of scallops and halibut with a lobster/tomato based sauce. Fantastic! Since the menu changes daily, I can't refer back to that now, to help me write this review, to include what everyone else at the table ordered. Suffice it to say, we were very pleased with our first dinner in NOLA for the JazzFest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great meal...great dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Party of 8...had a fantastic meal and the "salty malty dessert" is by far one of the best I've ever had! Trying to re-create it back home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GW Fins also viewed

 

Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GW Fins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.