We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night at GW Fins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
808 Bienville St, New Orleans, LA 70112
(504) 581-3467
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
GW Fins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,606 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness, variety and to the guest are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Saturday night at GW Fins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I ate here in March 2013. We had a 9pm reservation and we were seated promptly. We started with the lobster ravioli which was light & tasty, although very small. Mom had the scalibut & I had the swordfish. Swordfish was flavorful, but a bit over cooked. Scalibut was excellent! Service was on point, but faltered a bit at the end with clearing away dirty glasses/plates before dessert. Was pricey, about $150 for the two of us - including 3 glasses of wine. With so many restaurants in the quarter, may not visit again soon, but was a very enjoyable meal.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    1,374
    334
    125
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Menu changes daily, reflecting what is local and fresh. Service is enthusiastic, which is particularly impressive for a tourist town. Best place for Louisiana sea food. If available, go for the tempura red fish- bones and all.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish in an elegant setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As others have said, even though this is just off Bourbon Street, you'd never know it once the front doors close behind you, and you enter the elegant dining room. Overall the service was good, but we were getting a bit thirsty by the time our water glasses were filled, almost 10 minutes after we were seated. This was definitely very fresh fish, and was expertly prepared with sauces that complemented the courses beautifully. The "Scalibut" - their house specialty - was a delicious pairing of scallops and halibut with a lobster/tomato based sauce. Fantastic! Since the menu changes daily, I can't refer back to that now, to help me write this review, to include what everyone else at the table ordered. Suffice it to say, we were very pleased with our first dinner in NOLA for the JazzFest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal...great dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Party of 8...had a fantastic meal and the "salty malty dessert" is by far one of the best I've ever had! Trying to re-create it back home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque new mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to Fins based on the #4 ranking on Trip Advisor.
There was nothing but pleasure in this dining experience. Just off of Bourbon St. we found the interior elegant but not stuffy. My partner called it "The Ruth Cris of Fish"!
We started with a perfect Sazerac and wine. The beet salad was delicious and the Remoulade dressing on my salad was just the right amount paired with the chilled shrimp "set the table" for our entrees. My partner's redfish was soo fresh and grilled to perfection. The only problem with my Parmesan encrusted Drum was that there was only 1 piece. I could have eaten 5 of them, it was soo good. The pieces of crab decorating the fish was a nice touch.
The service was excellent. The waiter knew the menu inside and out, this was great as the menu changes regularly. They were there when you needed them but not intrusive.
This is not a cheap restaurant but one can consider it a bargain for what you get.
As many good restaurants as there are in NOLA, I'd go back in a New York minute!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GW Fins also viewed

 

Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GW Fins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.