We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! Great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacques-Imo's Cafe

Jacques-Imo's Cafe
8324 Oak St, New Orleans, LA 70118-2044
504-861-0886
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,606 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious! Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our experience. The restaraunt is off the beaten path, but worth the can ride. Everything we had was amazing. Starting with the Alligator/Sausage cheesecake and fried green tomatoes - the bacon wrapped quail and ending w blueberry cupcake. The wait staff was lively and food service was quick! A must do if you are in New Orleans.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    490
    144
    68
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun, funky, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You got to wait to get a table but it's worth it. You pass through the kitchen to get to your table in the eclectically decorated dining rooms. The service is good and the food is superb. Any fish dish will be fresh, the fried chicken is good, the rabbit is better and the alligator cheesecake is beyond description.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC,NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fun reunion dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love the appetizers. Great spicy fish entrees! Casual vibe with no pressure to turn the table over when we were done ( although we did eat late)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Real deal New Orleans cuisine. For realz.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a Saturday night on the suggestion of a buddy of mine who's a local. Great food!!! Real deal stuff!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seriously Rad.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Okay, so the place is kind small and kind of in a residential area, but so worth it! We took a trolley which added to our experience! We shared the Jambalya appetizer, which was outstanding! I wanted to keep eating it! They have us cornbread muffins for free which were scrumptious. I had the Eggplant Piroque, which was delicious and he had the Catfish Ettouffle, which he loves.

We have different servers throughout the night, but they managed to never mess up! Organized chaos, I guess.

The feel of the place is rustic, but awesome.

We only wish they had beer into tap, but they said they had no room for kegs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacques-Imo's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jacques-Imo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacques-Imo's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.