We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brunch, service not so much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Conti

Cafe Conti
830 Conti St, At the Prince Conti Hotel, New Orleans, LA 70112
(504) 636-1060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,514 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch, service not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Hip little café a block or so off of Bourbon on Conti (of course). We enjoyed this place so much we ate here 3 out of the 4 mornings we were in New Orleans. I think the prerequisites to work here are; be young, hip & very soft spoken. Come here for the food and don't expect much in the way of service. Once they've taken your order, you will not be attended to again until they serve you your food (unless you ask, of course). Obviously, this didn't dissuade us from returning.

The lox & bagels are wonderful as are any of the Benedict dishes. They serve breakfast, brunch and I presume lunch, closing at 3 pm. I would highly recommend as a quick & less expensive alternative to some of the other brunch spots in the French Quarter. One note: if you're looking for champagne or other alcoholic drink with your brunch, you'll have to look elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast very special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Cafe atmosphere with really special food. Try the grits bowl (grits, creamed spinach, bacon, egg), it is so yummy. Went back again and tempted to have the bowl again but tried the crepes and they were great!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Tucked just inside a driveway and across from the Prince Conti this is a great choice for a nice hearty breakfast before heading out for the day. Fresh ingredients and friendly service here will make you come back for more.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Convenient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have stayed at the Prince Conti two straight years. We usually eat breakfast offsite, but this year we at at a Cafe Conti every morning. Not typical 'hotel food.' This place is good. We sampled a little bit of everything during our four day trip and all meals were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Confusion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

As we had been bumped from the Riverside Hilton to the Prince Conti we were given a separate menu but the staff had no idea, did not listen so breakfast was delayed for 40 minutes. food was good though.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Conti also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Cafe Conti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Conti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.