We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Drinks and Appetizers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galatoire's 33 Bar & Steak

Galatoire's 33 Bar & Steak
215 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA
(504) 335-3932
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Drinks and Appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Tassy and Lofton were amazing bar tenders. Best Sazerac of the trip. They also make a great Old Fashioned. The devilled eggs and bone marrow were incredible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It's a pity that the pure excellence of the Galatoires could not have been better translated to it's progeny 33 next door. The steaks are very good but the quality of the accompaniments simply does not match what is available from the same kitchen in the peerless original . The service is not up to the original either. Perhaps the tourists won't mind because it would be a fine restaurant experience virtually anywhere else other than next door to the best.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Force of Nature making its Mark in the steakhouse space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I'd heard quite a bit about the grand opening. I wanted to wait until the hoopla had died down, and after the restaurant had enough time to work out the kinks. i knew the true test of of restaurant is how they do when the crowd's are not there during rush or peak hours and during slower days or slow season. i went on a Monday night, when many restaurants are not open. First, the appearance was stately from the modest entrance next door to the iconic big brother Galatoire's. The bar is nicely attenuated and inviting. The menu was not as extensive as i feared it would be. This place understands what it wants to be....a fine high end elegant steakhouse serving the best cuts of meat with enough options for non-carnivores to be legitimate. Simply stated....the meat was perfectly cooked to temperature and delicately seasoned. I was impressed as were the members of my party. Don't fear the location. Park around the corner and come have one of the highest quality dining experiences in New Orleans. Oh...and their wine selection.....well...they know what pairs well with succulent steaks. Nice job folks...well done.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness......fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We started the meal with Lobster Bisque. Wow!!!!!! Certainly the best I've ever had. Then followed it with a Filet for one of us and Lamb Chops for another. We accompanied these with potatoes and a Pea/Mushroom in cream sauce dish. All the food was perfectly prepared. The filet cut like warm butter and the flavor of both was fabulous. We ended the meal with a lemon trio dessert. My tastebuds were dancing in delight. You definitely have to like lemon to have this dessert but if you are a lemon fan then I can't think of a better dessert to recommend.

The service was impeccable and even though we were a bit underdressed (dressy jeans, sweater, scarves) we were made to feel as welcome as anyone.

I will make this a destination to eat during my next visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Rating the bar service only...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We didn't eat here, just had a few drinks at the bar, but wanted to be sure we thanked our bartender Tacy for being so attentive and nice, and making us a couple of tasty cocktails. We would highly recommend having a cocktail when she is there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galatoire's 33 Bar & Steak also viewed

 

Been to Galatoire's 33 Bar & Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galatoire's 33 Bar & Steak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.