We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfish

Kingfish
337 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-598-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 1,628 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Conti
Description: Kingfish features New Louisiana Cuisine from beloved New Orleans Chef Greg Sonnier. The menu reflects Greg’s Louisiana-centric approach to food. At the bar enjoy both traditional New Orleans style cocktails, such as the Sazerac or the Pimm's Cup, as well as modern cocktails created by New Orleans famous mixologist Chris McMillian.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We followed our servers advise and tried a crab appetizer and a lobster appetizer. The four of us loved both (although did not agree on which was better). The surprise was we tried the rabbit and loved it. The flavors in the sauce were amazing. The atmosphere was fun with historic photos on the walls and dark paneling while not being too fancy for us.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Lauren,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Kingfish so much!! The rabbit is a favorite among our guests. We look forward to your next visit. Let us know if we can assist you with anything else.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    88
    23
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eutaw, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thought was better 1st time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I ate at here shortly after it first opened last year. We considered it to be very good in all aspects {food, service, etc} and even recommended it to a number of friends. On a recent visit to NO we decided to do lunch there. I do not want to say it was bad, but it was disappointing and certainly not nearly as good as our previous meal. The poor waitress definitely contributed to the experience too. We started with cocktail and then ordered. When the food came I ordered a beer. I did not get it until I finished my meal and in the meanwhile I saw our waitress talking on her cell and visiting with co-employees. I am not hard to please, but if I were the manager I sure have a talk to this young lady. The meal was okay, but being frequent visitors to the Big Easy, there are a number of places my wife and I would go to eat before returning to the Kingfish. Perhaps we hit it on a bad day or our previous outing there was a good day. I am not one who likes hit-or-miss.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We apologize for the substandard experience that you had during your last visit to Kingfish. We strive for giving our guests the best experience possible, such as the one you had with Emma in August. We appreciate the feedback on the service and will make sure to address with the staff. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. Let us know how else we can make your next trip better.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for Large Group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a party of 10 and we're seated in a detached dining room that felt like we were dining in someone's home, so that was kinda personal and awesome. Our server was really nice and explained the menu very thoroughly. even brought a dessert for a friend's birthday. the Shrimp Gaufre and scallop entree were the best dishes of the night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you got to enjoy the comforts of our "Board Room". The shrimp gaufre and scallops are very popular with our guests. Let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“We loved eating here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Located in the French quarter. We found this place by chance – after all the places we wanted to eat in had a long waiting line. It was a nice surprise. The entrance opens into the bar and the place looks crowded but it opens inside to reveal a huge dinning place. We came with a stroller (& our sleeping son) and we had no problem to park it next to us. Service was pleasant. The appetizers arrived lightning fast but the main course took almost 20min to follow. Food was very good. For dessert we had bread pudding which my wife loved and I thought it was just OK. Restrooms are clean and large.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We appreciate the kind words on your review. We would like to apologize for the delay in your entrees taking a little longer to arrive. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food so much!! We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“One of the Best in the Quarter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Newly opened in 2013, this French Quarter restaurant has outstanding food and cocktails. Make reservations as it can be very busy in the weekends. The fish dishes are highly recommended with our favorites being the red snapper and the "#1 Every Man a King Fish" Himalayan salt bock Popano fish. Amazing!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much. The Every Man a Kingfish is one of our signature dishes that our guests love. We look forward to your next visit. Let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish also viewed

 

Been to Kingfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.